The Medieval Diaries - Volume 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #medievaldairies6 years ago (edited)

PubDomain


Greetings to all you wonderful Steemians. So I've decided to kick off something a little different. As the title obviously states it's diaries from Medieval times.

Mwuaahahhaaha!

As you know these times were filled with violence, disease, famine, poverty, treachery and so much more... Come to think of it, it actually sounds much like the world we live in today.

Anyhow, without further ado let's get going with the first volume of

The Medieval Diaries!


Warning: Strong language!

If you're struggling to read the papers scroll down for a standard text read.

Richard: The frontline soldier

Richard the frontline soldier.jpg


Lord Henry: The nobleman

Lord Henry the nobleman.jpg


Elizabeth: The peasant

Elizabeth the pheasant.png


Plain text versions

Richard: The frontline soldier

Today we fought another fierce battle against the neighbouring Kings’ army. Many have yet again fallen to the sounds of arrows cutting through the air, spears cracking bones, swords piercing and cutting the skin.

My dear brother was part of the left wing and unfortunately the enemy had broken through their defenses today. It is with a heavy heart that I have to tell you of my brother that has fallen. He had to hold the front of the line… an arrow pierced his throat… and as the enemy pushed forward he simply got trampled into the ground.

He was my youngest brother. A mere 19 years he would have turned in a few days. I just pray to the Lord that he is now safely in his arms.

I never quite understood this fight, even more so now. Losing my brother has changed me even more. We are all Christian people fighting against one another. For this reason I cannot understand when our King talks to us of “In the name of our almighty God” yet we continue to kill each other day after day, like animals.

I don’t know how I’m going to sleep tonight. In between the dreams of men screaming, swords clashing and waking up to the smell of blood and piss filling my nostrils, I now don’t know how I can add thoughts of my young brother being thrown onto a pile of bodies like a dead animal, burnt to the bone.

My only wish is that this will all soon end so that I can return to my wife and children. Please dear Lord, do not take them away from me too for I have lost too much already. Let the disease we have heard of safely pass them by.

Lord Henry: The nobleman

Today we have brought in some new slaves. I must admit, there is one I rather fancy to use for my pleasure. Her bosom is firm to the touch and she had quite a wild look in her eyes when I groped her.

She will soon realise that it will be better to submit than to fight. At first they all try to fight. I must admit, this gives me a feeling of eagerness when I use a new slave.

I’ve already told my men to soften her up a little. I do hope though that she won’t be too badly bruised or else I will have to have them whipped for not heeding to my command.

Hmmm, the thought of her being cleaned up and brought to my room is really getting me excited.

Well, let me get going for now. I need to make some arrangements for the Prince will be visiting our humble home within a few days’ time. We’ve had to burn many pigs that have fallen ill to a disease and I will accompany the soldiers to the farmers to see how many we will have available for the feast.

Elizabeth: The peasant

Some say it’s the meat, others say it’s a curse brought unto us. Every day I see the cart taking more and more dead bodies out of the city.

I’ve heard that they burn them and I’ve smelt it in the air. They haven’t allowed anyone in or out of the gates for the seventh day now and I can see the people are becoming wearier, more aggressive, as each day passes.

We’ve had no food come in from the farms and there seems to be lots of thievery going on. The guards have been tying up men, women and children in the courtyard, beating them with whips and sticks. But what are we to do without food? Even the baker has been rationing the portions and has armed guards stationed at the bakery.

The fruit and vegetables have all been taken away a few days ago. It is said that it was taken to the King’s castle, with some of it being distributed to the noblemen in the area. I do not know for I have been too busy tending to the sick as commanded by the King but I have seen a group of men beheaded for treason. It is said that they tried to steal the horse and cart carrying the food away.

Right now I need to finish up cooking the last bit of food I have left over in the pot. It has been cold enough so the meat and vegetables that was left have been lasting for a few days and I managed to get a small piece of dough that I will add in there. I’m still concerned though that someone will notice that the smell of meat is coming from my home and take away all I have left to feed my children. Unfortunately I have no choice. The food has to be cooked for fears of falling ill.

Hopefully my elderly neighbours will come to help as I have helped them with the little I have left. Beatrice has always told me about what a brave and strong warrior Alistair used to be. His name does mean defending men after all so hopefully he will be there to defend my son, heaven forbid, it had to reach that point.


I hope you enjoyed Volume 1 and I would like to see some other Steemians join in the fun by creating their own Medieval Diary entries :) Who knows, maybe it could become a book or a popular tag.

#medievaldiaries

Thanks for stopping by and please feel free to upvote, comment and resteem

Backgrounds downloaded from:

https://deviantart.com/

Please ignore the first tag. It's not about a medieval milk farm, lol. My eyes obviously auto corrected :)

Cheers!!


signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Sheeeesh. I feel for the poor slave girl. It made my stomach turn...
It's quite interesting to see how their minds worked back then though, but I feel kind of relieved to be a millennial as opposed to a slave girl during that time.
But are you sure it's dairies? ;) It makes me feel like a glass of milk =)

Hmmm, well picked up. I need to swap the a and i around. Midieval milkfarm, lol. Thanks for the spot. Yeah, I guess we have advanced a little over time. I can only try to imagine what it must have been like back then. Ugh, now I can't get rid of the milk tag :/

So the time flows and nothing changes...
( just saying )

Haha, indeed :)

I saw a vision of myself while reading this... Pulling some huge wooden water bucket from the spring and there I saw a person covered in dirt washing feet at the same stream, and then I realized he was up the stream to me....

Mwuahahaahaahaa, you're slowly being transported to the world of the dead and lost souls. Welcome :)
Join me by reviving some of those that have been calling unto us to bring their lives back. Let us not leave their stories untold :) Join me on the journey of the untold.

really well written

Thanks man :) Nice to see you around again

No my friend. It doesn't quite work like that. You should leave proper comments on people's posts. Upvote for upvote and upvote begging is highly frowned upon. You could open yourself up to be flagged. Rather leave an insightful comment that would make people want to upvote your comment or check out your blog :)

Wow that was a great read (well a couple of good passages). The background feel of old pen to paper gives it the right feel @therneau

Thank you so much Joan :) I'm glad you appreciated it. I struggled a little initially with tying the paper in with the text but felt I had to, so it has a better feel to it. I'm not much of a techie, lol

3 voices breathing from the past! A great post and well constructed! Upvoted!

Well thank you very much. Let's see how many more voices we can get going :D I'd love to see what others will come up with as well. Thanks for the support!

Congratulations @therneau! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62