Travel and Vaccinations. What is required

in #medicine7 years ago

needle-dark-72627.jpg

The summer officially began on June 21st but if you are like most, your plans for summer travel developed in the cold winter months prior.

Some of us long for the warmth of the sun on a white sandy beach while others choose to use their vacation time to help others in need. Both of these vacation choices usually involve travel to somewhere far far away. Foreign travel! That's the ticket. We plan our lodging, our transportation, and even daily activities but one crucial item is often overlooked...... VACCINATIONS

Yes I said vaccinations! This word is generally a hot topic.

To vaccinate or not? What is safe? What is necessary? What are the long term effects? I recently had a friend ask me for my professional opinion on vaccination as he will soon be traveling to South Africa. He, like many others, has been given conflicting information from friends and acquaintances. So let us begin by breaking down the subject.....

  1. Before traveling anywhere (including destinations in your own country) your childhood vaccination record should be reviewed by a medical professional to determine if anything is missing. Measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR), Tetanus (TD) or Tetanus and Pertussis (TDap) must without a doubt be documented and up to date. The Hepatitis A and B vaccines, now more commonly required and given to us as children, were not readily available to or required for those of us born before 1990 - but guess what? - you need them!
  2. Even if you have had these childhood vaccinations you may not be safe. That's right! It is possible to have been given a vaccine but your body did not create an immunity to the disease. Consequently you are still vulnerable to the condition if exposed. This is easy to remedy as it just requires a simple blood draw called a Titer. Titers are available for all of the above mentioned vaccines. If your titer comes back showing no immunity the vaccine can simply be given again.
  3. Where you are traveling plays an important role into what vaccines you should receive. For example traveling to a country that has certain types of animals and/or insects requires vaccines. (Vaccines to consider include Malaria and Yellow Fever)
  4. The purpose of your trip helps to determine the vaccines needed. Hikers, campers, and hunters will require different vaccines than beachgoers or general tourists. And missionaries or volunteer health or service individuals will need vaccines to prevent illness contracted through contamination of food and water often found in poor or rural areas. (Examples would include the Hepatitis vaccines and Typhoid)
  5. Your personal medical history plays an extremely important role in determining vaccines needed for travel. Those individuals with chronic medical conditions that affect the heart or lungs (heart disease, hypertension, COPD) and those with immune or blood disorders (leukemia and anemia) must be especially cautious of travel.

I am a big proponent for prevention.

If you can prevent a disease by getting vaccinated why would you not? But here are a few things to consider on this side of the subject....

  1. Insurance coverage. BIG ISSUE. Please contact your insurance company before you get a vaccine from your medical provider to see if it is covered. If it is not covered it may be affordable enough to pay out of pocket but that depends on the vaccine.
  2. Personal history of an adverse reaction to any vaccine. By adverse reaction I do not simply mean a sore arm. That will go away in a few days. Adverse reactions that should make you think twice about additional vaccines include seizure, paralysis, or airway compromise.

Aside from the vaccines given prior to your trip you can help prevent the spread of disease by following these simple but important actions when traveling:

  1. Eat and drink safely
  2. Prevent bug bites
  3. Keep away from animals
  4. Avoid sharing bodily fluids
  5. Know where and how to get medical treatment while traveling
  6. Choose safe and reputable transportation
  7. Maintain personal security

Please visit www.cdc.gov for extremely helpful and lifesaving information on vaccinations and travel. You can even search by specific destination to find out the list of recommended vaccines, what diseases are prevalent in a certain area, and advice for returning travelers.

Follow me @wickedcute

Sort:  

Really important tips @wickedcute! Whenever I travel overseas I carry a yellow card inside my passport that contains all of my vaccine dates and types... I think that I was actually required to present proof of a yellow fever shot when I traveled to Nairobi, Kenya.

Between that and those nasty malaria pills sometimes I feel like a travelling petri dish... But hey, it works!

I should have known you would have that! You could be my poster child for vaccines!

Congratulations @wickedcute! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks wickedcute for this helpful post. I might add that vaccines are important for all ages.

Yes they are :)

I'm terrified of needles. I know I need to get vaccinated when I travel though and so I do it. But I'd be forever grateful to whomever figures out how to do this without a needle. A pill or a simple squirt of the shot into my mouth would be wonderful. But I'm a big baby lol.

I'm working on it!!

I'm with you @ekpickle! I'm a big needle wuss. I am just going to stay home.

I know that shots are temporary, but the build up makes me pass out!

Hi, great post ! for a follow and upvote please reply to this message and follow and upvote my latest post @rafkimuhammad

Done! Love your pictures

Hi @rafkimuhammad - just a quick note here - if you're asking people to upvote and follow you, at the very least you should upvote the post that you've commented on. Otherwise, it's considered spam and you risk getting downvoted. Keep this in mind for the future. Thanks!

Capture.JPG

I traveled to Africa once and didn't get any vaccines! I was one of the only ones on the trip (30 ish) to not get sick until the last day where everyone got food poisoning...

You are certainly lucky my friend. Best of luck in the future with your health. But that's quite a gamble to take.

That was a year ago to Ethiopia and my health is on point thanks.

Glad to hear it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42