You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Better Diet May Help To Treat Depression

in #medicine7 years ago

If I remember correctly the first anti-depressant was made from concentrated cashews.. But that was decades ago, I wonder if it's still valid today.

Obviously, there are many different aspects to depression, I just recalled that due to the dietary side.

Another great post Arif! thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

Thanks mate! I hadn't heard that - I will need to look it up. The earliest antidepressants were MAOIs - monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAO is an enzyme that breaks down serotonin, dopamine and noradrenaline). It is quite possible that such an inhibitor was first discovered in a natural situation.

Yeah but try to take it with a grain of salt, I've seen that in old videos from a very long time ago... Maybe the research got better since then.

Plus, you never know what documentary is accurate anyways. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50