Berberine Update

in #medicine7 years ago

01.jpg
Courtesy: Stop Aging Now (www.StopAgingNow.com)

I promised to do an update on Berberine after I had been using it long enough to see if it made a substantial difference in lowering my blood sugar. I have Type 2 diabetes and have now been using this all natural supplement for over 2 months. I am happy to report that in over two months I have found it necessary to take an insulin shot once. I eat whatever I like (I hit the donut shop almost every morning) and I usually have a bowl of ice cream. I also have a bag of candy that I eat out of pretty much all of the time. My blood sugar is staying around 135 on average. In the morning it's usually about 105-115. In the evenings it's generally around 145-150. On one occasion it went over 250 and that's when I took a shot.

I figure if I stop eating sugar, my blood sugar level would probably stay under 100. So, if you have Type 2 diabetes, I heartily endorse Berberine... it's completely natural, no chemicals. I generally buy a 3 month supply at a time for $22.95 each. This is some of the literature provided has to say... "Berberine XTS™ features an extra strength dose of highly purified berberine, a natural plant alkaloid that may help support healthy blood sugar balance, insulin sensitivity and glucose control. In addition, berberine supports normal blood lipid levels, including total and LDL cholesterol and triglycerides, and helps to maintain a healthy microbial environment in the intestines."

"Berberine is a natural yellow-colored alkaloid found in dozens of medicinal plants, including several herbs that play an important role in Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) and Ayurveda. Berberine hydrochloride (HCl), a highly purified form of berberine, has been the subject of numerous studies for its effects on blood sugar metabolism, lipid levels and blood pressure. And this is the form you'll find in our powerful Berberine XTS™ formula, which provides an extra strength 1,000 mg dose of pure berberine HCl in each daily serving. Other berberine supplements provide much lower doses, and sometimes are simply made with an unstandardized extract of the berberine-containing barberry plant."

This is more of the information: "A Powerful Plant Ally for Blood Sugar Balance, Heart Health and More

A double-blind, placebo-controlled trial investigated the effects of berberine on blood sugar and lipid levels in 110 middle-aged subjects with impaired glucose control and elevated cholesterol and/or triglycerides.1 Subjects took either 1,000 mg of berberine (500 mg twice a day), or placebo for 3 months.1

Researchers were astonished to find that those taking berberine had significant improvements, including a:
20% reduction in fasting glucose1
26% reduction on the 2 hour oral glucose tolerance test (a measurement of after meal glucose levels)1
36% reduction in triglycerides1
18% reduction in total cholesterol1
21% reduction in LDL cholesterol1
They also experienced a modest, but statistically significant reduction in both systolic and diastolic blood pressure (7 and 5 mm Hg, respectively).1

A recent meta-analysis looked at the effects of berberine for management of blood sugar, blood lipids and blood pressure.2 A total of 27 randomized, controlled clinical trials were found and analyzed, with impressive results.2 While the majority of studies were performed using a drug as the control group, several studies looked at berberine versus lifestyle changes.2 Here are some of the significant take-aways:

In 5 studies examining 169 berberine subjects against 162 control subjects, researchers concluded that berberine was more effective than lifestyle intervention or placebo at reducing blood sugar. The dosage of berberine used in these trials ranged from 900 mg to 1,200 mg daily for 3 months.2

In 6 trials examining 229 berberine subjects against 222 control subjects, researchers concluded that berberine was more effective than lifestyle intervention or placebo at reducing blood lipids, including total and LDL cholesterol, and triglycerides. The dosage of berberine used in these trials ranged from 900 mg to 1,200 mg daily for 3 to 4 months.2

In 3 trials examining 168 berberine subjects against 162 control subjects, researchers concluded that berberine was more effective than lifestyle intervention or placebo at reducing blood pressure levels.
The dosage of berberine used in these trials ranged from 600 mg to 1,000 mg daily for 3 months.2

And there's more: Berberine may have positive effects on your digestion! It may help modulate the gut microenvironment by inhibiting bacteria cell division in the gastrointestinal tract. It also inhibits the alpha-glucosidase enzyme, which is an intestinal enzyme that breaks down dietary carbohydrates into simpler molecules, resulting in reduced absorption of dietary carbohydrates."

Scientific References:

  1. J Clin Endocrinol Met. 2008;93(7):2559-65.
  2. J Ethnopharmacol. 2015;161:69-81.
Sort:  

oh this is good I am a type 2 diabetic for a few years now. My older brother is encouraging me to transfer to insulin because I am taking so many meds metformin, diamicron and glyxambi. I wonder if this is available in the Philippines. My daughter sent me cinnamon tablets which are also good for diabetes. My sugar now if 110-150 depending on what I ate hahah. So hard to be diabetic with all the sweet sugary stuff lying around. I used to bake but had to stop.
Thanks for this update @richq11 We diabetics got to stick together like honey lol.

I'm sure it is... just google www.StopAgingNow.com. I was on Metformin and my blood sugar was staying up around 260 so they put me on Lantus (insulin). Now I just keep that for an emergency and take the Berberine every day. This company sells Cinnapure which is a cinnamon extract, but berberine is much better.

Great Work!!

Wow this is amazing Rich I really appreciate the update and all the info you put into this its a good review on Berberine.

Rich - Curious on the cholesterol piece with this supplement, did you do any blood work or strictly monitored blood sugar? I am trying to avoid taking a statin for cholesterol. I am currently on third month of a 4 month trial with red rice yeast extract to lower cholesterol. This product looks promising if that does not work.

Not yet... My doctor's office called and canceled and when I tried to reschedule I found she quit. So now I have to find a new doc, then I can get my test. I trust the company, @kus-knee turned me on to it over a year ago for prostate supplements (which also work miracles). If they say it's good for that, I trust them.

Rich, which prostate supplement did you find the most helpful?

This is what I take... They make an Ultra, but after trying it for 3 months, this seems to work better for me.

https://www.stopagingnow.com/OPT/OptiProstate-XTS-Saw-Palmetto-Formula

I wish I could say that it's like being 15 again, but my prostate is the size of a Buick, so any relief is a godsend!

I hear that!

Definitely a good review on the product. I am from the Philippines and I have to check this if it's available here. My mom use to have high levels of blood sugar i think this would really help her. Thanks for the feedback @richq11! :)

Sorry I got so self absorbed in me, I failed to mention the results you achieved are wonderful. Here’s to your good health and non-dependence on insulin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82