You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Tech News - How Medical Technology is Saving Lives in 2018

in #medicine6 years ago

Excellent analysis of the future of medical technology! Drones and AR are certainly cutting edge frontiers of the medical field, I think they have room for a lot of growth - and with that growth, improved care in the world.

You point out that Zipline, which specializes in drone delivery of medical equipment, started in Rwanda; I mainly wanted to point out that Rwanda's an interesting place to see innovation spring from given that just 25ish years ago was the tragic and horrible genocide; but it looks like Rwanda as a country is recovering and healing, and looking forward to the future. Drones may be a key part of a developing Africa's future, whether it be for monitoring wildlife or supply delivery where land may remain wild and unpaved so even driving may not always be the best option. Hopefully their efforts in Tanzania work out well!

AR like 'Touch' or 'Go Surgery' look promising for ensuring a baseline of quality care; the less brainpower they have to spend on imagining how things should look, the more they can use on focusing on the surgery work itself. Or at least that's how I picture this, I could be wrong.

With growing populations, as you mention, include a growing need for medical care and technology can more easily scale treatment plans to meet those needs. However, some of the most advanced countries, which might develop these treatments in the first place, face problems with aging populations that aren't necessarily being replaced (like Japan). Even they are working on robots, as I recall, to assist with senior health (maybe helping them out of bed or the like).

One more note, sorry... "Have I peaked your interest here?" Should be piqued, not peaked... I know, I know, but another friend was shocked nobody ever fixed that mistake for her before so here it is...

Sort:  

Very solid points. Your point about Rwanda is interesting and it impresses me even more now that you have mentioned the tragic backstory of the country's people just 25 years ago, it is fantastic to see the country getting back on its feet. I hope the 'Touch' and 'Go Surgery' can do exactly what you have described. Create a soid baseline of quality care. Thanks for pointing out my mistake using peaked vs piqued. It is a phrase I've never used on paper before but I guess there's a first time for everything (more often than not it doesn't go that well haha). Very cool feedback @motordrive. I'm following you now, keep in touch buddy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61