I'm back from surgery on my appendix , and the doctor told me that they still don't know its purpose....Is that true ? Maybe not ! Heres what I've found out .

in #medicine7 years ago

20170628_212652.jpg
Still bloaded from the gases pumped into my stomach for surgery , I pose to show you how they commonly do this procedure now and days .No longer the usual incsion on the lower right abdomen. .And when my doctor told me they still don't know the true function of the appendix , I had to look into it myself ....an this is a decent video for all information commonly spoke of for this particular subject. Let me know what you think or if you have anything or share .It intriguges me to think we still don't know the true purposes for some of our basic anatomy.

Sort:  

Interesting video. I had an appendectomy 20 years ago. I was a moron and rushed my recovery, going back to work in a few days. My incision (yeah, it was the old style), wound up getting infected and as a result I was stuck in bed for another two weeks. In case your impatient like me, remember to take your time and heal up before you get back at it. You do not want an infection.

For sure! I had a friend that rushed it too after their surgery , so I kind of been watching myself , none can really afford being laid up that long after surgery . Good looking out !😊

I've read that the appendix may release enzymes to assist in digestion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54