Medicine... A way of Life

in #medicine8 years ago (edited)
People used to ask me : 'What do you wanna become when you grow up?'

I always answered them : 'A baker or perhaps an inventor,...'

But little did I know that I was going to become a doctor once...

To be honest, I hadn't planned to start my medical studies until 2 years before I graduated secondary school. At that moment I was 17 years old. Pretty late huh ? ;)

I studied Ancient languages at school (Latin-Greek), but I barely had sciences back then - which obviously was a crucial component in medicine -

Since 1997 there's an admission test here in Belgium , which you have to pass obligatory before getting permission to start your medical studies. ( "Numerus Clausus - System")

And I have to say... It's a quite an impressive experience:


More than 4000 contestants each year taking part with only one purpose : That sweet spot in the medical world :)

Eventualy I succeeded and got the permission to start my medical studies in 2010 at the Catholic University of Leuven (KUL).

Although my adventure is already 6 years long , my first days at the University and as a young student in a foreign city, feel just like yesterday. My god does time fly !

A whole new world layed at my feet and I got the opportunity to reside at a dorm, for which I'm very grateful towards my parents for giving me the chance to experience the student life to the fullest and develop independence.

Next month a new exciting adventure awaits : 'The Great Clinical Internship', which will last for a full 12 months.

My white coat, stethoscope are at the ready, so... Let's do this !!!


I'm already looking forward to it! It really is the most beautiful job in the world !


- Maxim Bobbaerts -



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39