You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Better Diet May Help To Treat Depression

in #medicine7 years ago

Contrary to common belief we are not what we eat.
We are what we absorb.

Different bodies, process food differently. Environment, quality of food, exercise, all contribute massively and can alter how nutrients reflect on health.

I know I told you before but I really can't accept the studies at heart.
So much entropy involved :)

Sort:  

Contrary to common belief we are not what we eat.
We are what we absorb.

Good point. I think both are correct - we are what we eat but only the components of it we are able to absorb of course!

This seems to be another factor that is dependent on the microbiome - certain microbes make it easier to absorb certain types of nutrients.

I know I told you before but I really can't accept the studies at heart.
So much entropy involved :)

I know and I agree but we have to start somewhere - if we can use this to get larger studies and replication then it is useful. If not it doesn't really mean much.

The problem is quite often nobody bothers to follow up with new studies because it doesn't get as much publication air. Everyone wants to do something new to try to get more attention.

It is a big problem.

The problem is quite often nobody bothers to follow up with new studies because it doesn't get as much publication air. Everyone wants to do something new to try to get more attention.

The eternal replication and sample size problem. No falsification, no science really.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82