You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Sweet Tooth (and Over-eating) May Increase Your Risk for Alcoholism

in #medicine7 years ago

Getting older my tastes have changed, when I was younger it took nothing to eat a large bar of chocolate now in lucky to eat 2 squares, I prefer savory food but can't eat it as most of it especially pastrt gives me indigestion as for alcohol I used to live a drink now have none. But I'm still not losing any weight :(

Sort:  

As you get older it does change tastes and appetite. The exact mechanism is not well understood but it probably relates to hormonal changes - e.g. growth hormone levels etc. This also as metabolic effects which result in a greater tendency to gain weight - your calorie requirements tend to decrease.

Of course you can and you will :)

Then the menopause hits and it all goes South

Yes hopefully with anti-ageing research a cancer free solution can be found.

I can imagine it won't be easy but knowing you after reading so many of your posts I think you have the drive to push yourself and do this.

Thanks. Yes I've done it before so I can do it again.

I would love to see that in my life time

I suspect it will happen quicker than we think. One of the things I'm thinking about doing if I do get out of psychiatry is going into anti-ageing/life extension work. I have a particular interest in neurodegenerative diseases like Alzheimer's and Parkinson's Disease and I think that is the field that will most likely provide cures for them. I did one of my university research projects on them.

Good luck to you, You go for it :)

Thanks will try. First I have to get myself back and that is not easy - am working hard on it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59585.77
ETH 3002.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78