Follow up on my Dr's visit, "The Post I Forgot".

in #medicine6 years ago (edited)

Emory Aquarium.jpg
Last week I had the nice images of the fish tank at the Orthopedics office.
That was on a Monday.
On Thursday, I actually got to see the surgeon. While waiting, I got these
Images from a model of the hip and the replacements that were in the room.
Completed package.jpg
↑This is what the end result would be like. Everything on the right side↑
(The Femur insert and new ball) will be made of Titanium
Ball with femur insert.jpg
↑The roughened portion (looks grey) is still Ti, but is made such so that the↑
Bone will grow into it and bind.
Hip with socket inserted.jpg
↑The Hip Socket is some sort of Poly blah blah material.↑
In the beginning, this was made of Teflon, but they quickly discovered that it
Broke down and had to be replaced
(plus we now know that Teflon leaks chemicals, don't cook with it)
Socket-exterior view.jpg
↑The backside, (minus that magnet for the model) is made of Titanium↑,
Roughened like the other parts so that my pelvis will bind with it.
Ball in femur.jpg
↑So this is what I'm looking forward to, figuratively speaking.↑
I would MUCH rather that I were not having to do this at all, but...
It is what it is.
Thank you for reading. This was inspired, or should I say reminded me
That I hadn't posted it by my 'cousin' Stephen @papilloncharity in SA.

"The Post that I Forgot"

by
Jerry E Smith
©3/19/2019


These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks





Sort:  

A great and very detailed post here Jerry!
Amazing how we become familiar with the intricacies of the orthopedic world whenever we face a procedure.
Is that a marine fishtank in the guy's office?
Oh! And the gif certainly suits the occasion.
Blessings!

Howdy sir jerrytsuseer! very interesting to see what the new hip actually looks like, amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.19
ETH 2613.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67