You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Metformin and Dementia Risk

in #medicine7 years ago (edited)

@thecryptofiend
Thanks so much for posting this! My father was prescribed Metformin a while back but after researching it, I told the doc that we preferred to stay on my father's original medication.
My uncle is currently taking Metformin but I'm noticing that's he's more pale than usual. This is concerning. I know that certain medications have side effects and sometimes we have to deal with them, but when those side effects tend to out-weigh the benefits, then we need to stop and think!

Sort:  

On the whole metformin is pretty safe but nothing is 100% safe! If your uncle is looking pale it might be worth getting his bloods checked to see if he is anaemic and also check his vitamin B12 status.

Yeah he had a blood panel a few months ago but I might encourage him to get it checked again.

Yes worth doing I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58092.92
ETH 2616.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43