My Very Favorite Medicinal Herb and Some Thoughts About a Giveaway

in #medicinalherbs7 years ago

This One’s For You, https://steemit.com/@sumatranate.

Yesterday I read a post, https://steemit.com/health/@sumatranate/motivation-better-health, and @sumatranate mentioned that he was battling a sinus infection and asked for any tips for getting rid of it. I mentioned in a comment that lemon balm has worked miracles in our house. He asked for more information, and I was inspired to write my first article about lemon balm.

Lemon Balm: An Absolute Must Have In My Home

Around here we just don’t get sick. We are blessed with unreasonably good health. But we all have fall allergies. Occasionally those allergies try to turn into something ugly in the sinuses or try to settle in the chest. So before an infection or bronchitis can take hold, I break out the lemon balm.
It not only stops infections from taking hold. About 5 years ago I had a full blown, coughing, hacking, whining, case of broncitis. It came out of nowhere. I was fine when I went to bed, woke up sick.
It was so bad, that half way through the day I had completely lost my voice, and that’s when I knew I had to take action. I will not cannot just not talk. The thought is inconceivable.

I had just started growing and learning about medicinal uses for herbs, and lemon balm is really easy to grow, it’s a perennial herb, it grows incredibly fast, and it smells ahhh-mazing. So it was one of the first medicinal herbs that I added to my garden. I had some dried and stored, so I gave it a try. Mi-ra-cle. With in 24 hours, the cough was almost completely gone. In 36 hours I was as good as new.

For a steam inhalation, I boil about a cup of the loosely packed, dry leaves in about a quart of water. If I’m using fresh leaves a just grab a hand ful and bruise them a little befoore putting them in the water. As soon as it starts to boil, I remove it from the heat. It’s a good idea to pour it into another pan or bowl to prevent burns from the hot pan. (Don’t pour hot water into a room temperature glass bowl. It can cause the glass to expand rapidly and unevenly, causing the glass to crack or break!!) I ‘tent’ my head by draping a towl over my head and the hot liquid, trapping in most of the steam. Holding my face a few inches from the water, I breathe fairly deeply for a few minutes, usually 3-5.

I keep the balm in the refrigerator between uses and reboil it when I need it again. I wouldn’t keep it in the fridge for more than a couple days, and I would throw it out and start fresh when the aroma fades off.

I also try to keep my eyes closed, the lemon balm steam can make them burn a little. My daughter, however, says it doesn’t bother her eyes at all. Maybe I’m just sensitive. But I recommend trying to keep your eyes closed.

Seed

C062E853-95AA-4526-9DA3-732124359543.jpeg

Over the last few years, I’ve noticed that lemon balm seed is becoming more common to see on the big seed displays at garden centers and places like Wal-Mart. But I’m partial to heirloom seeds and I’m a huge supporter of small businesses, so order mine from an heirloom seed company called Baker Creek located in Mansfield, MO. (Ya know, I’d love to do an article about Baker Creek! Maybe if I become a Steemit rock star, they’d agree to an interview and tour!) I’ve more recently been seeing heirloom seeds on fancier displays in old fashioned looking packaging marketed as a specialty product, but they’re sometimes pretty pricy, and I don’t know where they’re from.

If you don’t have any experience starting and growing herbs, there are tons of how to’s and tips avaible online and at the library. There are probably some right here on Steemit! So, I won’t go into all that.

Harvesting

Lemon balm is related to mint. So, like mint, as it grows and goes dormant and then grows again the next season, it can start to get some real woody, thick stalks in the middle and the new growth comes out around the edges leaving an ugly dead spot in the middle. I usually cut mine down to an inch or two in mid to late October. It allows the new growth to come in all the way across the pot.
I would love to post a picture of the full, thick plant, but I cut it down about 5 weeks ago for the winter. But here’s a picture of what’s already trying to grow back. This plant doesn’t know it’s winter.
5DBD5AD3-C331-47E7-9FB1-1732779052E5.jpeg

I almost forgot! The pot! I grow lemon balm in pot. It can become invasive in a hurry. Gram, my grandmother, finds it popping up in all her garden and flower beds every year. I love the stuff, but there’s such a thing as too much of a good thing. And Gram has too much!

When I cut it down, I hang bouquets of it from the ceiling of my laundry room. It’s dark and it doesn’t get too dusty in there. If you do have a problem with your hanging herbs getting too dusty, you can cover them with a paper bag while they dry. Like this...
64E8FC28-9117-4831-BB94-D47CA3BFAAD9.jpeg

Once the lemon balm is dry, I pull the leaves from the stems and store it in a dark, airtight container and put it up in a cool place.

Now My Thoughts About a Giveaway

I’ve gone on and on about how much I’ve gained in the few days since I joined SteemNation, and how much I look forward to the information and perspective and inspiration I hope to gain in the future. But something else I’ve noticed is how generous some of the gifted people here are with actual, physical gifts to one another.

I don’t count myself among the ‘gifted’, but I’m a creator and crafter and I love sharing my work. I’m super interested in giving some of it away to members of this community. I love pay-it-forward kind of things.

I have a few questions and maybe some of y’all could help me out with some answers. I’m not sure at all about how to go about.

  • What’s a fair way of choosing who to send a gift to?
  • How does one go about aquiring the address to which the gift should be sent without advertising it for all to see?
  • Do you have any thoughts on this that I may not have thought of?

That’s About It!

Thanks for investing your time in my article! If I left anything out, or if you have any questions, let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

Thanks - I know a few people with sinus issues and I've never heard any of them saying they've tried lemon balm, I'll recommend it to them. Great post :)

I'd like to hear how it works for other people. Let me know if they try it out and how it works for them.

The reason I haven't got lemon balm is I haven't anywhere to contain it! The mint is already in the contained area. Mind you, I wonder if they'd be happy together?

I grow mine in a five gallon bucket. I've found that as long as I cut it down every fall, it doesn't get thick enough to kill itself out. It survives our winters outside just fine being in a container. I do make sure it is protected from the north and west winds.

I don't know if one, mint or lemonbalm, would be aggresive enough to crowd the other out or not. I will look into that and let you know!

@powellx5, thanks so much for answering my questions. Lemon balm sounds incredible!

When you do a giveaway make sure that you have explained the rules in advance.

One fair way to run a giveaway is set to minimum requirements to enter and then randomly select one person from the qualified participants.

I would recommend setting up an account with Steemit.chat and/or Discord so that people can contact you privately. Both of these methods are commonly used by Steemit users.

Again thanks for the great info!

You're welcome, @sumatranate. Thank you so much for the excellent give away suggestions!

I just posted a giveaway: Steem Markdown Course: Giveaway Details

Feel free to check it out to see how I formatted the rules for the giveaway!

Perfect! I'll take a look.

Awesome article. I wish to get some of those seeds shipped to Nigeria. The closest I've seen to that is the lemon grass. As for gifts, there's a few charities and initiatives on Steemit here who are doing a lot of good across the world with gifts and donations. One of those is @youarehope. You might want to take a look and maybe be involved in whatever way. How best to send? Just a transfer to any Steemit account with a memo often does for me.

Good luck and have a great Christmas season.

Lemon grass is so useful! I hope you run across some lemon balm. I don't know how I ever lived without it.

My Christmas season has been wonderfully peaceful. Peace to you and yours!

Welcome to steemit! Glad to see another herby here, a good one to follow is @elew, she knows hers as well and is a fantastic crafty (craftsman) who shares her goodies in pictures and instructions. As far as contacting folks have ya checked out the steemit chat?

Wow, she's got some beautiful bead work over there! Thanks for the suggestion!

I didn't even know there was a Steemit chat. I'll definately be looking into that!

There are some great random name drawing websites
randompicker
random.org
http://random-ize.com/pick-from-list/

just to name a few

Great, thanks for the tip! People here are so helpful!

I damn love lemon balm. Melissa Officinalis (probs not spelt right). She smells so heavenly. She cures my anxiety, depression, sickness. My favorite herb. I wish I had some, but I did not harvest enough this year and my inside plants are tiny. All Love for Lemon Balm!

Nope, you spelled it correctly! She DOES smell SO good! In the spring when I move my plant out into the sun, I set right at the edge of my porch, right next to where I sit in the morning so I can smell it!

I love the scent of dried lemon balm as well, its relaxing to burn like bay leaves, but smells better.

Oh yeah and lemon balm is the balm for anxiety and sadness. sesriously.

This post was specifically written for sinus and chest congestion relief, but it is SO useful. I don’t know how I could squeeze all of its medicinal, aromatic and culinary uses! One of us should do a lemon balm post series! :)

Oh yeah. Susan Weed has a blog talk radio thing on Youtube and she has an entire series on different mints! She is an encyclopedia of herb info.. Its by Time Monk Radio if you wanna check it out. Ill probs post more about medicinal herbs in the warmer months when im making and harvesting stuff :P

I look forward to your herb posts! Thanks for the info on Susan Weed. I'll check her out.

She is my all time favorite herbalist, and Yarrow Willard right after her.

This is great info! I have enjoyed lemon balm in my tea, salads, stir fries but never knew it could help allergy/asthma symptoms. Thanks for sharing. And what a nice trick with the paper bag, genius!

I am new to steem and inspired by all the kindness as well. Regarding your question maybe you have another social media account that allows private messaging where you could suggest folks connect with you? At least that way you wouldn't have to give out your email either.

I'm so happy that my post helped someone out! I found out that there's an app called Discord where you can chat with other Steemians. Someone on something I read explained it like this: "Facebook has messenger, Steemit has Discord."

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by minismallholding from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks! 😸

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thank you!😺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48