Poke Holes and Plug Them: Part 2

in #medical6 years ago (edited)

In my previous post found here (https://steemit.com/medical/@loganhommel/poke-holes-and-plug-them) I broke down my personal IFAK build. This is the "Vehicle Light Trauma Kit" that is found on the third image. As it states, it's part of a 2 part system in my vehicle, but it will be broken down as its own in this post.

pjimage (1).jpg

You can see the designation patch, Blackhawk molle quick clips and trauma sheers. Also....a Yankee Candle scent thing...it rides on the back of my seat in my truck, gotta smell good.

20180302_131858.jpg

There's still room to add some things into this kit, one of which will probably be a secondary TQ and maybe a Clif bar or something.

20180302_132128.jpg

The guts, right to left:

  1. SAM Splint
  2. Nasopharyngeal kit
  3. Large Guaze pad/Chest Seal and Guaze Roll
  4. Non Sterile bandage wrap
  5. 2x NAR Compressed Guaze
  6. Heavy Bandage Roll
  7. Hand Sanitizer (Commonly forgotten)
  8. Full Pack of BC Powder (fast acting NSAID that doesn't require being swallowed)
  9. 4x Nitrile Gloves (DO NOT USE LATEX)
  10. Lubrication, Bee Sting Swabs, Bacitracin, Iodine Swabs and Pads, Alcohol Pads, General Bandaids
  11. NAR Compressed Trauma Dressing
  12. 6x Wound Seal
  13. 3x Chemlights
  14. Medical Tape
  15. Streamlight 14512 Sidewinder Compact II
  16. TQ

The purpose of this kit is more Trauma/ All purpose. It rides attatched to the drivers seat back on a molle cover. It can be taken off rapidly and can be used for anything from a GSW to minor scrapes and cuts. I would put a EpiPen in the kit (all of my kits actually) but since I'm not alergic to bees, I can't get a perscription for a pen (probably one of the bumbest regulations out there).

Next week I'll break down my Vehicle Medium Trauma kit part 1 of 2. It's a much larger bag containing everything here and much more. Hopefully these posts will encourage people to become more prepared when it comes to their own safety and those around them. Feel free to give me input whether it's based on your opinion or experience, or things YOU may carry in lieu of or also in your kit.

Some of this may seem redundant, why carry multiples of things?

2 is 1, and 1 is none.

20180227_132831.jpg

*I AM NOT a medical professional, none of this is medical advice or training. This is merely the measures I've taken for myself and those in my life. My girlfriend is a nurse and has given me training exceeding that of basic training on the tools I have at my disposal. I am also active military.

Sort:  

That's nice first aid kit. I like your edc posts too. I'm in a Discord group, @preppersonline - I know they would like to see your posts too. Let me know if you would like an invite link to the discord group.

Sounds good, go ahead and share away. I've got two more posts to do to complete my medical setup. After that I'll be working on a few other projects. You can send me an invite. I won't be active on it until probably tomorrow though since I work nights

Sounds good. https://discord.gg/255Td3q .. Someone there is putting together a preparedness curation for posting on Monday, I know she's looking for a couple more group member posts to feature, so there's a good chance you could get this post on it. She talks about it on the #steemit channel on the group page. Thanks, hope to see ya over there.

Cool, maybe I'll speed it up and do the other two kits this weekend. I'll join when I get home, thanks!

You're welcome :) She'll be using only 1 post per member per week, she has plans to do 1 prepper curation post per week. So if you posted the next part after the weekend then maybe you could get that one on the next weeks curation. She does the post picking, that's why I can't guarantee, but i think your posts and pictures are good quality.

I understand. Makes sense. I link the previous posts in them since it's a 4 part blog post. Even If I get one curation post, that's exposure! haha

Hi, Jackdub alerted me to this post on the Preppers Discord....
Yeah definately great info, i would feel more comfortable if more folk carried gear like this... Definately a lifesaver i am sure!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mraggaj from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89