Dr Laila Noor's history

in #medical7 years ago

"My decision to be a physician was largely driven by my childhood experience and the values that were instilled in me from those experience. Honestly this is the only profession that is primarily focused on making others lives healthier, therefore happier and I could not imagine any other profession more fulfilling than this.

My life in Sir Salimullah Medical College was a roller coaster ride. To be very honest, I faced difficulties to adapt with the changed surroundings in the beginning. But I was very fortunate that I never failed in any item/card/term/professional exam in five years of my medical school life. I was not the first bencher but I was not the back bencher either. I have listened to lecture videos of many renowned professors around the world while preparing for USMLE and I can tell it now that our SSMC teachers are highly knowledgeable and they are very much invested in the teaching process. I am deeply indebted to SSMC and my teachers because whatever I learnt from this place helped me tremendously in my USMLE journey.

FB_IMG_1516033026242.jpg

When I started this journey, I had very little guidance and resources available to me. I did not know how to proceed and I saw little to no light at the end of the tunnel. So what is this USMLE? It is the licensing exam that one needs to take to practice medicine in United States. It is one of the top 10 toughest exams in the whole world. USMLE assesses a physician’s ability to apply knowledge, concepts and principles and to demonstrate fundamental patient-centered skills. USMLE Step 1 has special emphasis on basic science; Step 2CS emphasizes on clinical skills as well as communication and interpersonal skills; USMLE Step 2 CK on clinical knowledge. Passing with a good score is not enough to get matched in a residency program. One also needs to have US clinical experience (externship/ observership/research), strong US letters of recommendation and of course they prefer fresh graduates. All these may appear very dreadful and but it is doable. All you need is persistence, hard work and a lot of mental strength. I would say that step1 is the toughest of all. It is very detailed, takes the longest to get prepared and step1 score plays a vital role in residency application. Once you are done with step1, you know you are half-way there. Try to minimize gap between steps and work hard to improve your CV by doing observership or externship so that you have strong US LORs.

It breaks my heart when I see many doctors specially brilliant female doctors come to this country and their dreams are shattered in kitchen doors and laundry baskets. If that is what you want to do I respect your choice but if not, I know your struggle girl! USMLE and match process both are emotionally draining and it is very easy to lose focus when you are all alone studying at home, taking care of a household as well as a baby, doing clinical rotations and you know there are lot of uncertainties in this journey. For me,my daughter is my biggest strength and continuing to work hard towards my goal became easier after I conceived her because I wanted to be a role model to her.

I want to do something for the Bangladeshi community that lives around the hospital where hopefully I shall start my residency from July 2018. My career goal is to be a well-trained internist who is dedicated to making a difference for every patient in a community."

Dr. Laila Noor, MD
PGY-1 Resident (2018-2019)
Jamaica Hospital Internal Medicine Program, New York
SSMC- 36th Batch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59601.30
ETH 2583.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48