You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There's not much difference between YouTube TV and cable TV

in #media6 years ago

I stopped watching TV in 2012 because I was running a business, so I rarely got round to watching the TV, and the subscription cost for TV service, broadband and phone had gone up to £45 a month (about $60). The phone never seemed to work anyway. I thought I would catch up on my favourite TV programmes via BBC iplayer, but the funny thing was, as soon as the TV was gone, I totally lost interest in it and started to find YouTube much more interesting.
Since then of course, YouTube has gone through a lot of negative changes, including heavier advertising and a smaller percentage of the profits going to the producers. But we have Dlive and Dtube. TV just seems like a weird relic from the past now.

Sort:  

A weird relic from the past, indeed. I don't know why anyone would tolerate commercials anymore.

As to the negative changes on YouTube, I've seen plenty of controversial content there. I can't say that I've investigated it much, but if YouTube develops a reputation for censorship, alternatives will find their way to the people that need them.

This is one thing that I happen to like about the internet. We can make it what we want it to be.

I really hope so, and I think that is certainly the case with Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77