Nightly News No More

in #media6 years ago

Nightly_News_Broadcast.jpg

I enjoy the nightly news. At least I did up until now. There was something comforting about being told about the events of the day as it winds down. I can be knowledgeable about the events of the day while enjoying dinner. The news offered me the chance to wag my finger at the bad people, lament the latest tragedy thank thankfully wasn’t happening to me, then enjoy the satisfaction of my local sports team’s latest win. All of that is over.

I stumbled across this video showing several local news anchors saying exactly the same words. It may be the most educational 90 seconds I’ve spent in years. It is clear from this that these news broadcasts are scripted from a single source. I don’t know what that source is and no doubt there are many conspiracy theories circulating that purport to reveal it. But frankly, the video itself is all I needed to know about this.

The local news I watch is most likely not an independent voice reporting the important news of the day. It is likely nothing more than the local wing of a much larger attempt to control the message being broadcast to the general public – me and you!

It’s the last line, repeated word for word by virtually every on-air personality that really punctuates the creepy “1984” feel of all this. I will never see the nightly news the same way again.

Watch and learn:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39