My first smokehouse

in #meat7 years ago

Hello!

This is my first post, so I chose a project that I am very proud of. My name is Aaron and I live in Ohio. I came here after watching merican homestead. Here we go!

I've owned many smokers over the years, bit I always wanted to cold smoke. Old fashioned dried sausage, bacon.....mmm. My mouth is watering.20150815_154713.jpg

Here is my base. I started with rough oak and plumbed in a drain that could be used as a way to connect a small in ground firebox.

20150901_175521.jpg

We poured a concrete base that sloped to the drain. Next, I started framing. All the lumber was bartered for from a friend. It was not dry wood, so I expected some shrinkage (built in venting).
20151004_173327.jpg

Siding came next and the door.
20151115_171635.jpg

I used some scrap pieces of metal siding from a building project. My wife suggested turning it 90 degrees to allow the edge to be pulled down to create an overhang above the door.

After harvesting my first deer ever, I made some old fashioned dried sausage and let it smoke/dry for a couple months. 20161224_095104.jpg

Success! A very fulfilling project and a belly full of amoked deliciousness. Hope you enjoyed my first post20170202_170857.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Aaron,

It's great to have you on Steemit!

Nice to meet you!

very nice post Aaron, so it's a meat drying chamber!

Thank you!

Great job! Love it!

Really appreciate it. I learn a lot from your family. Keep it up.

THANK YOU!! We appreciate you coming and watching! It means a lot!

Now I want to build a smokehouse in my friend's backyard ... he'll probably let me.

Congratulations @alongsworth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @alongsworth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59119.47
ETH 2526.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47