Is Steemit Also a Place for Ordinary People?

in #me8 years ago

Is It Also a Place for Ordinary People?

When I started steemit a month ago after reading an interesting news about how its value have increased to 1000%, I told myself that this might help my family’s problem, Scarcity. After creating my account, I started posting stupid post and started to realize that I have another problem, I don’t know how to write. I’m just nobody, I have not graduated any college course and if somebody will rate my English communication from 1 – 10, mine is at 1-2. I’m trying my best to sustain the needs of my family.   

After a few days reading posts, I noticed that we need to come up with a good introduction post to verify my identity, so I started plotting my introduction post, plotting is different in writing, it means that I have to think a lot to come up with the post. After a few days, 3 weeks I guess, I have posted my introduction followed by another 2 posts.   

As I continue to read posts every day, I noticed that every people who made an introduction post and raked impressive rewards are somebody, somebody who possess a good personality profile, a good skill such as programming and developing skills, a beautiful woman, a high profile individual, a rich guy, a journalist, a model, a good writer, a traveler, an oligarch, in short an interesting people and none of these qualifications even a bit has something to do with me, I won’t compare myself to them coz it makes me feel small.  

 I read comments every day and also observed that the community wanted more to join and steemit, urging others to help Zambrano the model to gain good upvotes so she can invite her network to steemit. With this, I told myself if I could invite my Belgian CEO would it be an advantage to the community? But there’s a doubt within myself, how can I convince my boss to join?   

To begin, I started asking few people to help me gain upvotes on the invitation post that I will be creating for my boss because it would be very easy for me to convince him if he sees my post rewards. One of the persons I asked was @smooth and what he did was he flagged me due to “votebegging”. I felt very disappointed at first then I ask him is it necessary to flagged me for asking upvotes. Waking up in the morning I checked on my replies and found @smooth message saying that he already remove the negative rep. Wow I felt happy and contented, he’s a nice guy after all. I understand that he was just trying to protect the community.   

Let me show you what’s inside my house, I’m doing this because I wanted to show everybody here on steemit how real I am. I’m supposed to be ashamed with the look of my house but I think there’s nothing to be ashamed of.   

This is my house, a 25 square meter house and I don’t think any high earners here can surpass 2 days staying in this kind of house considering their current way of living. Only poor people can endure staying here.   



This is our 6ft x 8ft room. Imagine when you sleep your feet touches on the wall and your head on the side of the wall :) 



This is actually my 2nd house and the first one was taken by huge flood last December 17, 2011. I will not go into details about it, it doesn’t matter anymore. Do I have plans of building another house that’s a bit nicer for my family? Of course yes but for now it’s difficult because I’m just earning $500 a month, for a married man with 3 boys and a wife, this is not enough, maybe it is 10 years ago.   

To @smooth, thank you and have a blessed day.

Sort:  

Hi @juvyjabian. Thank you for sharing your story and I hope you continue to participate in the community here. It may seem unfair that a (somewhat) famous Playboy model or a well known writer will be more highly rewarded than others, and in some ways it is; life is not fair. But I don't agree you are a nobody, even if you are not famous.

Everybody is a somebody and everyone has stories to tell, experiences to share, and lessons learned in life that can help others. That is all part of connecting with other human beings. The more you post and contribute to discussions in the comment streams them more value you add and the more other people will want to give back. That is only natural.

Thanks again for the introduction and welcome to Steemit.

Thanks @smooth hope I can share you a cup of coffee someday.

That would be my pleasure.

Are you Matt Copper in twitter?

I have now $57 reward, thanks to you and all the others who voted my post. By the way, what could be the possible reason why a reward goes down? Mine was $58 an hour ago.

  1. Market exchange rate of STEEM drops
  2. Other posts gain higher rewards, since all posts active at the same time draw from a common pool.
  3. People can remove their vote or add a flag/downvote (your post currently has no downvotes)

I´m happy that you finally managed to become more visible and that this story with @smooth went out good in the end :)
Just as some hint, why not link to other relevant articles in your post. For example it would be good to link your introduction article, so that people can easily find it if they are interested.

Yeah @arcurus I thought that would be the end of my steemit carrier but it turns out differently, in a very positive way. Everything happen for a reason and I'm very thankful to @smooth for teaching a good lesson. The same with you too, you were there to cheer me up and gave advice. Thank you so much.

Hello @smooth, I made an appreciation post for those who voted me, especially for you, kindly check it.

Agree with smooth, everybody is somebody, I can guarantee you have had more hardship life experiences that could become part of your blog than many others here on steemit. Sometimes it just takes a bit more work to get the ball rolling than the ones with a nice ass or a reputation that is already established. But it is all possible, so put pencil to paper be totally transparent and give steemit some reading treats, and I am sure you will do well.

That's a good input @cryptoiskey, really appreciate it. Instead of thinking what is the best topic for steemit I'd rather share my experiences and gain friends.

That is exactly what I am doing. The one thing I want to do though is keep promoting steemit on the streets, it is a lot of fun and you meet heaps of new people. But apart from that, i am blogging for me, this platform is a great way to document your life and then share it with friends. I would have never started doing this if it wasn't for steemit. And the fact that my writing skills suck bad through lack of schooling, so steemit is basically educating me all over again with is a bonus.

But yeah i like your attitude , that's the spirit!

Me too. Don't concern yourself with what others might want to read. Share your passions and adventures, if others like it, good. Like @cryptoiskey, I would never be doing such an excellent job documenting life if it wasn't for steemit. When faraway friends and relatives join later on, they can keep track of what we're up to and how we're doing. I'm glad that you are handling things so well and wisely. It seems too many get too negative too quickly. Thanks for the post!

Hi @juvyjabian ! I appreciate you sharing your story. I understand how you feel about the popularity as well as standards of living. It seems everyone needs to be established or have some reputation. Taglines are important if you want to reach an audience. Nature photography philosophy, tags like that or anything that is included in your blog. I would use the maximum 5 to reach more people. God Bless you and your family.

Thanks @windowseatfare for the advice, I will apply it to my future posts.

Everything that is ordinary for you is extraordinary for people in other places in the world, in other circumstances. Write about what you know best, take pictures of what you know best. I believe, what you value deep down, everyone can appreciate. All the best!

Nice, effort go on....many people in steemit will vote for you., write more and gain vote. Actually my English language skill is poor, you give me insiration ans courage to write. Nice

You got my vote 👍

Hi juvyjabian, I love your post for it's brave authenticity. While it is exciting to see these folks with the great big payout, and inspiring to think sometimes all it takes is writing the right thing at the right time, there are a whole heck of a lot more of us who will not hit that big number all at once. I have been posting regularly, but not every day. Even though it's nothing compared to the big league steemers, it's still something for my time and effort, and that's pretty cool. I hope that as time goes on it will become more fairly distributed. Good luck to you!

Hi @uniwhisp thanks for reading my post. I feel glad, happy and my interest with steemit is moving bigger every now & then. Like you Im not after for those huge earnings like many people are having here, few dollars is enough for me to increase my steempower and few for my family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43