Simone Biles is 27 yrs old? AMAZING

in #melast month

I didn't know that was possible. I remember Olga Corbet and Nadia Comaneci. They like were ten and twelve years old.

I have never heard of a gymnast in the Olympics that old. Her says she is 4'8".

That's fantastic for old farts!

One time I was in half marathon, I was like thirteen and three were four of us on the middle school team. It was me, Phil Danko, Keith Richards, and Eric English. I remember a man over 50 ran by us like we were standing still because he started late and we passed him about two miles later. He was being loaded into an ambulance and the sheet was covering his face. He suffered a massive coronary.

The race was down in Morgan Hill, California the course climbed past Chesboro Dam up into the mountains and into the redwood rainforest. It was raining terribly and deep mud. I started crying trying to make it up to the top of mountain and it was steep.

Finally I made it. Then it was pretty much all downhill for about five miles. Running from the top of these mountains and foothills is what we used to do at that age most every day. Only there was no road or path.

I thought I was last place but nope there were still a hundred and sixty people behind me.

So we went hot valley to cold wet mountain rainforest and back in a couple of hours.

I received a medal while covered in mud.

27 years old. Awesome.

Sort:  

I remember Olga Corbet and Nadia Comaneci.

I remember them, too. It was the same Olympics as Bruce Jenner and Vasily Alekseyev. Probably the last time I paid much attention to the Summer Olympics.

I agree that Biles is amazing to still be there and winning medals at 27 in gymnastics.

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60328.18
ETH 2426.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48