A MCO Visa Card Review (great experience so far...)

in #mco5 years ago (edited)

I have been using the MCO Visa Card for nearly a year since its inception in Singapore and I have been a happy user so far.

For those who are new to this, it is a crypto linked Visa prepaid card where you will have to load some crypto currencies before you can use. They offer different card for various user groups and the benefits vary from card to card. More information can be found on their official website. I am not an employee of MCO and my review is purely based on my own user experience.

I am holding the Royal Indigo MCO Visa card currently. This card offers key benefits below.

  1. 3% card cashback in MCO
  2. Airport lounge access via LoungeKey
  3. Spotify reimbursement in MCO (max USD 9.99 equivalent per month)
  4. Netflix reimbursement in MCO (max USD 12.99 equivalent per month)
  5. Other smaller benefits which can be found on official website

But I am going to talk about the airport lounge experience today!

I have been enjoying the 3% cashback, Spotify and Netflix rebates so far but I have not tried out their MCO airport lounge service yet (blaming my poor time management and heavy workload). Until most recently I finally had the chance to fly and this has made my MCO experience complete! I have been to various lounges during my business trips in the past and I find the MCO airport lounge experience was equally great too!

Mine was a midnight flight from Singapore to Melbourne. In order to max out my lounge experience I went to Changi airport early. There are 12 lounges at Changi Airport (2 before security and 10 after security) and I managed to try out 3 lounges this time.

First I went to Changi Lounge @ Jewel (before security) – not crowded and plenty of peace.

Changi Lounge 01.jpg
Changi Lounge 02.jpg
Changi Lounge 03.jpg
Changi Lounge 04.jpg
Changi Lounge 05.jpg
Changi Lounge 06.jpg

Next I went to SATS Premier Lounge @ Terminal 2 (after security) – a little crowded and the food was so-so.

SATS Lounge 01.jpg
SATS Lounge 02.jpg
SATS Lounge 03.jpg
SATS Lounge 04.jpg

Lastly I went to TGM @ Terminal 2 (after security) – fantastic dinner!

TGM Lounge 01.jpg
TGM Lounge 02.jpg
TGM Lounge 03.jpg
TGM Lounge 04.jpg
TGM Lounge 05.jpg

The lounges charged me USD3.25 per entry, deducted from the MCO card but the fees were then refunded about a month later.

During the trip I converted some SGD to AUD in my MCO app and the process was a breeze. I wanted to use the card for all the AUD expenses while I was at Melbourne. Had no problem topping up the MyKi travel card, reloaded AUD10 twice and the transactions recorded clearly in the MCO app. However for Ola trip payment (Uber equivalent in Melbourne), I could not pay in AUD and my home currency SGD wallet was deducted instead. A little disappointed but no big deal because the FX conversion rate was quite ok.

Happy trip and it was time to go home. I managed to squeeze out some time to visit one lounge at Melbourne airport too. Check out the photos taken at Plaza Premium Lounge below.

Plaza Premium Lounge 01.jpg
Plaza Premium Lounge 02.jpg
Plaza Premium Lounge 03.jpg
Plaza Premium Lounge 04.jpg

Finally I touched down Changi Airport the next day early morning. I felt very tired so I decided to freshen up at Change Lounge again! Unlike the past trips where I rushed home immediately after touched down, I took a shower, slept for another few hours and had a breakfast before I went home. Feeling so fresh when I reached home in the morning!

So… This was my first lounge experience using MCO card. A total of 5 visits to airport lounge and each of them was great. The transactional activities using MCO card (top up, FX conversion, payment) were pretty seamless too, not to mention I continue to get the 3% cashback. I did not face any issues at all during the trip.

Great experience using MCO card so far and I hope more currencies can be added in the future (now only SGD, AUD, EUR, GBP, JPY HKD are supported at the time of writing)…

If you are interested, feel free to use my referral code to sign up (u0f6qbs464) and both of us will get USD 50 !!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @lcsem! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45