John McCain

in #mccain6 years ago

Normally I don't write posts regarding the passing of an elected official. If I say critical things about the departed, I will catch flak. If I say nice things, I'll catch flak for that as well. Unless the family is looking to me for comfort, I don't see any special obligation to say anything at all. So if you have to ask why I didn't comment on the passing of any particular politician, that's why. I reserve the right to say nothing at all.

But let's talk about John McCain. We'll be talking about his legacy for a long time. People who can't even name their own congressmen still know who John McCain was. He valued honesty, so he would understand if we have a frank discussion about him. He did have principles, and while we might disagree with those principles, we should concede that he was very committed to what he believed in. He had experienced some of the worst that war had to offer, and yet he would go on to be one of the most hawkish members of the Senate. He sincerely wanted what he thought was best for America, and he was willing to pay a steep price for it. His own son joined the Marines with his support, going on to fight in a war that McCain helped start.

It might be tempting for peace activists to cheer, but it doesn't help our cause. McCain had a reputation as a maverick, but politics has always been a team sport. McCain only shares a small fraction of the responsibility for US foreign policy this century. The entire country has a lot of growing up to do, and pissing on graves only takes us backwards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.89
ETH 2421.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44