THE LAST FIVE HUNDRED YEARS OF MARITIME SHIPPING FINANCEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #mba7 years ago

The Ship Finance Industry is has to be as old as ships themselves...

There are many theories about when ships first started to be used. So it is not easy to find a common ground to start from when examining the topic. But modern ship financing can be said to have started approximately 500 years ago. Financing of ships during this period started to focus on the interaction between shipowners and bankers. 

These relationships flourished in big port towns such as Amsterdam.

Hamburg and Rotterdam were two other big European ports. These types of ports were hubs that would handle masses of cargo at the time. They still do. Ship finance during this period was similar to that of the previous millennia. Shipping expeditions were set-up and completed as once-off projects. Large groups of investors were involved.

Exploration started to become less important

Especially during the last part of this period. Merchant shipping now became the dominant maritime activity.


Sort:  

I did not know that there was ship financing 500 years ago. Amazing.

Me neither, I hope there was or else this post was complete nonsense! LOL. No not really, there had to be but just in a different form and they used different words to describe it.

Sometimes I wonder if back then they did not perhaps have better models of ship finance than we have today. Gonna do a post about it right now, thanks for the ideas you are giving me!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Aug 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $19.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hey, I repeat that comment about "the Basque History of the World" I reckon you would find it eye opening.
Mark Kurlansky

should be able to get a copy cheap on abebooks or amazon

or maybe not, but is good read.
And has heaps to say about the origins of commercial shipping

Thank you so much, one of my followers on here has a bookstore on Amazon and he used to work for a maritime publication many moons ago. Lemme check with him.

Where are you from? Spain I assume, but where in Spain?

nah, I'm from the outback of Australia, but live here in Spain, in the mountains in the south

Spanish kangaroo nice. Did you live on a farm in Australia?

where are you?

I live in South Africa. Mining towns must be depressing no? We have some here too. South Africa is pretty big into mining.

Did you have to milk cows on the diary farm? When I read it quickly I thought you meant diary so I imagined someone standing and sitting on a diary and read it from time to time for a few years.

When you say living on the sea do you mean on a ship or like near the sea? I think living on a ship must be fun...

nah, although I have.

If that makes sense.
I grew up in a succession of mining towns, each more desolate than the last.

lol
but when I was real young we had one stay in a farming town, and later on I stayed on that broad acre farm a few times

And later, as an adult I lived on a dairy for a couple of years and even worked it for about nine months.

but not the life for me, nor living on the sea
although that one has a huge attraction.

I don't do it though.

I almost went to live near the sea this last time, but in the end the best house I saw in my brief search was in the mountains

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97