HOW BIG IS A SHIPPING CONTAINER?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #mba7 years ago

Thank you to one of my followers, internet marketer and property investor @colinbrazendale

Thanks for asking a great question in response to my previous post. I talked about the history of shipping finance from 1950 to 2002. Here is the link to that post: https://steemit.com/mba/@pjcswart/shipping-finance-from-1950-to-the-turn-of-the-century

The post was all about how containerization changed the face of the shipping industry from 1950 onwards

Putting goods in these huge boxes had a huge influence on shipping... and therefore on the entire shipping finance industry. But not only that. It also a major effect on the entire world economy. And on globalization for that matter!

Now @colinbrazendale asked about shipping containers

The boxes specifically. Those big boxes that go on ships, and whether they come in two mainly two sizes. My response was, yes and no. Now be aware that these types of questions get me very excited, so the explaination may be more than you bargained for :-). But I shall try to keep it short and sweet OK?

Shipping containers come in a number of different types and sizes. 

Most of them of variants of the traditional 20 foot and 40 foot varieties: Here is a short summary that I found at https://www.mrbox.co.uk/shipping-containers/ ... see, I told you, I wasn't an expert. If I was, I would have know this without googling it... :-)

Standard ISO shipping containers are 8ft (2.43m) wide, 8.5ft (2.59m) high and come in two lengths; 20ft (6.06m) and 40ft (12.2m).

Extra tall shipping containers called high-cube containers are available at 9.5ft (2.89m) high.

Smaller 10ft (2.99m) and 8ft (2.43m) containers are also available but cannot be shipped in the same way as 20ft and 40ft containers.

A standard ISO 20ft shipping container has a capacity of 33.1m3 – enough room for almost 100 household washing machines!

ISO stands for International Standards Organization.

Other shipping container designs include (but are not limited to):

  1. Tunnels – with double doors at both ends.
  2. Open-sided – with doors down one complete side.
  3. Double Open-sided – with doors down both complete sides.
  4. Open-tops – with a removable tarpaulin roof.
  5. Refrigerated – for frozen or perishable cargoes
  6. Flat racks – for oversized cargoes – no roof, no side panels and collapsible end frames.
  7. Pallet wide containers – 2.5 meters wide internally.
  8. Half height containers – mostly used for heavy bulk cargoes such as coal.
  9. Tank containers – for liquids.
  10. Bulkers – for granular cargoes.
  11. Coil carriers – for coil cargoes.
  12. Car carriers – a collapsible rack for transporting cars inside a dry van container.

Now here is a pic of a monster, it doesn't have anything to do with containers but it is cool...

Source:

www.pexels.com

https://www.mrbox.co.uk/shipping-containers/

Sort:  

hi nice post. I up voted you and also followed you do follow me and see my blogs. thanks

Thanks for the upvote! I like your posts about water and the one about reputation. My voting power is a bit low now but will resteem them... Following you I like your posts.

This post has received a 0.69 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @pjcswart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64333.84
ETH 2760.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65