Untold stories of most vulnerable Rohingya refugees

in #mayanmer7 years ago (edited)

Rohingya refugees share their stories of dispossession and the problems they are facing at camps in Bangladesh

77d2fdcfb6184add8cf987ab0690894c_18.jpg

(Rohingya refugees wait to receive aid in Cox's Bazar)

More than 430,000 Rohingya have arrived in Bangladesh's Cox's Bazar district in the past four weeks, fleeing a military offensive inside Myanmar.

Aid agencies say children, widows, the elderly and the disabled are the most vulnerable, requiring aid in the form of food, shelter and healthcare.

We spoke to some of the refugees, who shared their stories.

Nur Jahan 85

Nur Jahan's husband Abu Bakar Siddique died eight year
I fled my home in Kuinnyapara village

My son, Abdullah, was killed by the Myanmar army. He was 28. He took care of me. I fled for my life along with fellow villagers. I can barely walk, but somehow managed to reach Dhankha
When I was helpless, Hossain, 27, rescued me. I arrived in Bangladesh On September 3.

I first took shelter at Kutupalong extension area and later on, he, along with his family, shifted to a hilltop at Balukhali extension. I am living here with Hamid, but he has his own family of 15.

My husband Abu Bakar Siddique died eight years ago. Abdullah was among my eight children. I do not know the whereabouts of my other children.

The place I am living currently is nice, but far from the main road.

I have left everything to Allah and want to take my last breath without a fear of being attacked

Monir Ahmed 36 s

Monir Ahmed stays at Thaingkhali unregistered refugee camp
I am visually impaired. I beg at Thaingkhali unregistered refugee camp to survive. I am from Charicomb in Maungdaw. I am staying in the place for the last seven days, but could not find a medical centre. I need to consult an eye doctor.

I do not know where I could find a medical camp for the visually impaired.

I am glad I came here. At least nobody is killing me. People here are generous, they are giving food

Sort:  

430,000 Rohingya have arrived in Bangladesh's Cox's Bazar

Congratulations @sahadatthed! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51