Get Here

in #mavphotofiction6 years ago

52376409-A9B4-4808-AD48-3B855E470ECC.jpeg

In life, we will encounter that one special person who will make a huge difference in us, that someone might come in a perfect place and time or maybe at a wrong time but in a right place.

Here’s a story about Luke, a young engineer who found love in a perfect place but at a wrong time.

The cafe

I love drinking coffee in my favorite coffee shop- sitting atop the buildings with a magnificent sunset view of the metro. Coffee + cigarettes + sunset view was the perfect alone time for me. Its been a year since I discovered this place and somehow I got attached to it, its like my go-to place when I need to destress. Also I got to know Tim- the owner, the one who created this place and he told me the story why he built the place.

The coffee shop was built with 90% recycled materials as a gift to his lovely wife. His wife wanted to go home to the province but due to her medical condition the request was denied. And so he decided to build a place where you think you weren’t in the middle of a city, it’s like a secret green house where a beautiful garden and artistic works are displayed and of course a stunning view of the sunset. Sadly, his wife died before the cafe was finished.

The first encounter

It was a stressful day at work, there was a problem going on with the project and my mind wasn’t working. Gladly, my co-workers helped me fix it on time- teamwork is indeed the key. After work, I went straight to my favorite place- the secret coffee shop to relax.

Upon arrival at the shop, I saw a fair young lady with a long silky black hair wearing a whitish dress sitting on my spot. I ignored her since there were vacant tables around, I went to the counter, ordered my regular- coffee + cupcake of the day and when I turned around, the lady wasn’t there anymore, the table was cleared and I decided to sit there- got my phone from my pocket, wore earphones, played the music “Get Here (If You Can) by Oleta Adams”, took a sip of my drink and got a cigarette from my bag, placed it on my mouth and as I was trying to light it, to my surprise, the lady who left the place, was standing on the other side of the table.

She was saying something but I was shocked and coughing so hard because of the smoke from my cigarette.

“Are you okay? I’m sorry if I frightened you, its just that you took my seat. I went to the restroom and when I came back you’re already here”
-she said it in a shy-worried manner.

“I’m ok, don’t worry about me. I’m sorry, I’ll just transfer to another table”
I said as I was trying to prevent myself from coughing again.

She said “no, it’s ok. You can stay here since this is your spot”

I was shocked that she knew, I looked at her and I think I know her from somewhere, it’s like I’ve seen her before, I just can’t remember when and where. So out of curiosity, I said..

“I don’t mind sharing the table as well, since this spot has the best view of the sunset. That’s if you don’t mind me smoking?”

“Oh thank you! I wanted to see how the sun set here in the metro looks like. Yes, I wouldn’t mind at all. I’m Alex by the way.”

“Luke, nice to meet you Alex”

There was a dull moment after, I don’t know what to say to her since I’m not good at starting conversations, specially with a fine lady like her. I glanced at her, she looks delighted and contented. She looked at me and I panicked.

“Uhhm. Errr. Soooo. Ughhh. What hmmm”

She interrupted me,

“It’s my first time here Luke, when I heard the news that these place was going to be converted to a cafe-garden, my heart fluttered, I was excited. But days before it was completed, I went to a distant place. It’s only now that I had the chance to come back. It’s really nice here, I love everything here, specially this spot.”

At last! The silence was broken!
“Yeah, I also love this spot. I come here every time I need to think and relax. So how long are you planning to stay here? Uhm I mean when are you leaving?”

She caught me staring at her. She smiled and said “its not yet definite, but I will come back here everyday until that day comes.”

I smiled back, “Then I guess I’ll be seeing you again tomorrow?”

“Yes, Luke.”

We went on talking about the cafe and since I know the story behind it, I shared it to her. She was amazed and was happy about how the artist loved his wife. I looked at her, she was crying while smiling.

I got home and can’t stop thinking where I first saw her, she looks so familiar. Actually, I can’t get her off my mind. She was like an angel, such a beauty, kind heart and an angelic voice. Her hair, her smile , her brown eyes, her irresistible personality and the way she laughs. Everything about her is perfect. It’s the first time I was so interested in someone that it kept me up all night just thinking about her. Oh man, is this love?

Our afternoon coffees lasted for about a week, I got to know her better and I’m now sure about my feelings. I have fallen for her. But when I was going to confess, she interrupted me and said:

“Luke, it will be my last day here tomorrow. Can I meet you one last time?”

“Ok Alex.”
Its like my whole world collapsed.

The truth

Finally, the day she’ll be heading back to that place came. I did my usual routine and got out from work early- yes I was that excited and sad at same time to meet her for the last time? I’m hoping our roads will meet in the future and if that happens then I will do whatever it takes to make her mine.

As I was ascending the stairs, I can’t help but feel nervous. Then I suddenly stumbled, good thing my reflexes was fast and I got to grip the railings. I got up and noticed some photos of Tim with his wife hanging on the walls. One picture captured my attention, it was a photo of a young couple enjoying the sunset view- wait is that Alex? It looked very much like her. I went closer to have a clear view at the photo and it was indeed Alex. Oh my! What’s happening? Is this for real? Is she the Alex I’m having conversations with? Or maybe she’s the grand daughter? Or perhaps a relative?

Now, I’m super nervous. I saw her sitting in “our” spot. She saw me and waved at me. Oh that smile, my heart is melting. Can I just stop time? But I have to know who she really is.

I sat down and asked her straight away,

“Alex, who are you really? I saw a photo of Tim in his younger years with someone who looks exactly like you. Are you the grand daughter or a relative maybe?”

She hesitated a little.

“Luke, the truth is, I visited this place to enjoy what he built for his wife. I didn’t have the chance to see how beautiful the cafe was before leaving a year ago. I love what he did, he showed everyone how much he loved his wife. Everything is perfect.”

She continued...

“I am Alexandria, the wife of the man who built this place.”

Whaaaaat. You’re her? I can’t say anything. I was dumbfounded. Is this for real? What’s happening?

She was just looking at me, at my reaction. And explained further...

“I came back for my husband, as you know, he is in the hospital for about a week now and I think he just gave me time to appreciate what he built for me. I know its hard to believe Luke, but for love, anything is possible. I know I should have told you from the start but I wanted to know you better, I wanted to know what you think of this place.”

I’m still speechless since I really can’t believe it. But she continued,

“You’re a good person Luke, so save those feelings for someone who will feel the same about you.”

She knew I have fallen for her. I can’t, don’t say that Alex. Don’t go. Be mine.

“I have to go now, my husband is waiting for me. Thank you for everything Luke.”

And then she disappeared.

Minutes later, I heard the crew crying. The owner- Tim, the man who built this place and the husband of Alex, died. I reached for my bag for a cigarette, I need this. To my surprise, an envelope was stashed to my bag with a note saying:

“Luke,

I know how much you appreciate this place, take care of it for us.

Love,
Alex&Tim”

Inside the envelope was a document indicating that the cafe is now mine. The cafe, is mine.... I broke down in tears. I can’t believe it.

Addendum

I was sitting in my favorite spot with my coffee, cupcake and cigarette when one of the crew asked for my help, so I checked and helped them- I’m a hands-on boss anyway, then I went to the restroom after to freshen up. When I was on my way back to my table, the song “Get Here (If You Can) cover by Sam Smith” was playing and then I saw a woman sitting on my spot. Before anything else, I asked one of the staff if she can see a lady sitting on the veranda, and she yes. Ok, she’s real.

She’s a young lady with a brown long bob hairstyle, wearing a white v-neck shirt which gives emphasis on her collar bones. She’s wearing a black framed glasses and a nude lipstick. She removed her glasses as the sunlight struck her face (oh! she’s pretty), lifted up her coffee and took a sip.

I think this is my cue. I walked towards her, smiled and said,

“Excuse me, I think you’re on my spot.”

End

Thank you and hope you enjoyed it. Hahaha I got inspired with the song (Get here) I was just playing it on repeat while I was writing this. 😆

Sort:  

Pwede na palitan si Bob Ong. Hahaha. Galing ate!!!!

It is an awesome piece for me. I do love the way it was presented to the readers keep it up!

Photo by sir @maverickinvictus. Sorry, I forgot to put credits to it. 😞 Thank you for the photo sir. ☺️

Oh wow so talented. I read the story from start to finish and then the addendum blew me away!!!

Thank you @maverickinvictus! Glad you liked it! ☺️☺️

You were featured on the #44th edition of steemitfamilyph's featured posts. Congratulations!

Nicely written and I like the plot of the story! Good luck on the contest! 👍

Thank you @chinitacharmer. Hihi glad you liked it. Actually its my first time writing a fictional story and I’m delighted that you guys read it. 😭😭😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69118.60
ETH 3805.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71