The 'Music' Industry and its incessant need to indoctrinate the group mind with repetition

in #matrix6 years ago (edited)

The music industry as it stands depends on repetition of cycles of itself in order to train the unconscious mind of the group. Once something is repeated enough times in someone's periphery it becomes a part of their habitual reality. 'New' music is a concept of only playing and expressing that which is here and now.

Spontaneous improvisation is music to me in its purest form.

The mind is trained through repetition. Repetition of anything in our reality over time becomes part of our conditioning. This conditioning we then attach an emotional value to and we define it as ourselves.

gaga-3-lady-gaga-19868936-1227-915.gif

'Popular' music can be summed up as this:

I first heard the concept that 'Repetition is the master of learning' from a sales technique seminar a friend lent me.

This idea stuck in my mind. Over time I realised it wasn't just in the things we consciously trained ourselves to do but also in the things our environment unconsciously trained us to do.

I worked at a cafe in Brisbane that roasted their own coffee and sold coffee beans. The owners were lovely people and treated me very well. One thing I learned from working there is how popular music makes its seat in the mind. Frequency and repetition. I hated radio music then and I hate it now. I saw it for what it was then as I see it for what it is now. Money making bullshit.

Every now and then a real artist is broadcast on the waves but most of the crap that comes through those channels is utter bullshit. I used to wonder why things became so popular when they were, from a music appreciation perspective, voice-edited-four-chord-wonders-up-beat-in-a-major-key (a generalisation for sure but you get the point).

I learned over time in my reality that most people are not conscious of the full extent that their reality is trained around them via society and the way the media projects ideas, songs and 'news'. I learned also that people thrive on conflict. I learned from a sociological perspective when I studied it for a short time at university that deviance has a role in a working societal model.

Most people don't want to see this, or have seen it for a second and then block it out. It doesn't make any sense to them that there is a purposeful negative factor put in their reality so they have a place to put that part of themselves, and in turn it keeps the people doing what they are doing without asking too many questions.

Anyways, back to the music. I mean 'music'. I was forced to listen to radio music over and over again because of working at this cafe and I stopped resisting it because it was too much energy to constantly fight something that was always on at my work.

After leaving that work place, the same songs that were played in that period (about 2009) including but not limited to Lady Gaga's Poker Face (which was 2008 technically but still played widely on the radio a year later); I would hear these songs which I knew were utter trollop from a music appreciation perspective but there was a part of me that liked them. There was a part of me that thought, this was true music, and enjoyed it because I heard it so much over and over again.

I learned from this experience that through repetition the mind is changed. We are conditioned through frequency and repetition from birth. All the habits and things that define us are things that we either had to repeat or that our parents or people close to us repeated. These things then became who we are.

How many of us are actually conscious of this and then have the ability to change through repetition our conditionings and habits to build a truly better self?

Once something is repeated in reality enough times it starts to solidify in the mind. After this point it then starts to solidify in physical reality through literal physical representations of itself or physical effects of its introduction into the group mind.

The study of this is the story of my life.

I hoped you enjoyed reading this and I sincerely hope you can grasp this perspective then apply to your reality in the lab of your mind and test it over time to know the truth as experience. Once truth is experience it can never leave you and you have an intrinsic understanding of it that gives you the ability to hand it on to other people.

It is not enough to read something in a book. We must also live it. We must accumulate experiences around the subjects and ideas that we read and test them for ourselves in our own reality to see if they are true for us.

We live in subjective realities and 'objective' reality is co-subjective at best. Reality is probabilistic and statistical.

Grasping these concepts is the start of the pathway to true freedom from the (yes, I'm going to say it) Matrix.

In love,

Monty

===

Upvote, comment (let's start a discussion) and re-share =)

Sort:  

This is awesome stuff Monty, I have navigated similar thoughts and feelings around music and popular music. I have an almost physical reaction to pop songs, whereby I 'feel' the energetic effect and intent put into them. It doesn't feel good, synthetic and empty.

Music is one of the most pleasurable things in this world - because it carries the scent or the soul of the people who made it. Unfortunately when it is created with exploitation in mind, it carries the stench of that. It's for this reason that old jazz samples are so sought after for hip hop tracks, they carry that 'soul' of someone making music from an ecstatic place.

It's remarkable that the sound waves 'record' this imprint and can be played back infinitely! In this way we have a kind of language for sharing a highly specific feeling sense of things.

I was recently covering for a friend who runs a small juice bar. In the end I had to call him in to close up the shop, because intrusive loud pop music was doing my head in.

Not everyone is this sensitive to sound, but like you say - with enough repetition it has its desired effect.

I really love what you're about, following you now and hope to read some more insightful posts.

Much Love

Loading...

This post has received a 5.20 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @montycashmusic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89