Fractal vegetables

in #mathematics6 years ago

Nature is something that everyday amazes me...

When I studied Telecommunications, I had to study a lot of maths... we entered to study about fractals and their applications that nowadays I don't remember, but when I went to buy some vegetables I found this romanesco broccoli!
20180108_160210.jpg

I spent, maybe, 4 minutes looking at it, remembering some mathematics classes and situations with fractals, I was looking at it that my wife had to touch me to bring me back... it was weird.

I took that photo to keep it with me. Also, it is something beautiful, as this broccoli is using applied mathematics to have the maximum surface with the minimum material (I think this was one of the fractal application).

I know vegetables sometimes can make funny figures, or a sunset can amaze you, like can do a shooting star... but it is nice (and fun) that a normal vegetable amazes me in this way. To honor it, I made this post today.

Take care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56583.42
ETH 2984.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15