You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curious Case For Base 12 (Why Dozens Are Easier For Everyday Maths Than Tens)

in #mathematics6 years ago (edited)

For accuracy, I should mention In 1742, Swedish astronomer Anders Celsius referenced the freezing point of water as a 100 degree point, and the boiling point of water as the 0 degree point. In 1744, coincident with Celsius death, the Swedish botanist Carl Linnaeus (1707–1778) reversed Celsius's scale such that 0 was the reference for freezing and 100 for boiling.

The research on Fahrenheit and base 12 matched the point in your article, but I realized I had Celsius backwards, or maybe he did :-)

Enjoyed your post, and as mentioned it was in phase with my research. I look forward to more! Maybe you can get the post on temperature published. It will be interesting to see what areas you focus on.

Sort:  

Yep, Celsius started with an inverted scale where the colder it was the higher the number for the temperature was and I think somebody else started reversing it in the direction we are used to today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56036.67
ETH 2503.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26