Comparison of Mathematics v Steemit Posts per Month 2017 H1

in #mathematics7 years ago

I originally wrote this to check the average number of posts made in the three mathematics tags (#mathematics, #maths and #math) but then wanted to compare it to the overall growth in Steemit.

Here is the graph for the first half (H1) of 2017 - I know June hasn't finished yet but once I extracted the data I couldn't wait!

The data for Mathematics is in units whereas that for Steemit is in 1,000s of posts. The data was extracted using AskSteem. The data showed the number of posts that used at least one of the above tags, without duplicates.

As you can see, much of the year was flat then, from April to the present, we have seen an 8-fold increase in posts per month. Mathematics comes in at about 0.12% of Steemit and growth was about 10% faster than the overall site.

Let's see what the rest of the year brings.

Thanks to everyone in the math community!

Sort:  

Great post. I think organizing regular Math Quiz in SteemIt will attract math lovers to engage in since the one who gets the correct answers can be instantly rewarded with upvotes. I've been joining Online Math Competitions on Facebook and it's fun! I'm thinking it would be so much better here on Steemit.

Yes, I used to be a regular on some of the maths challenges and puzzle groups on FB. I used to contribute questions too - then work got in the way! I think those folks would love to come to Steemit, engage their passion and get paid for it!

There is the Mathematics forum on chainBB so they can hang out there. I was going to start posting on FB again just to attract users to Steemit, but if you are still engaged with those communities then ask them over! There are no affiliate or referral links - just the growth in the community and the total community votes.

I started this a few weeks ago in the form of Number Sequence Enigmas. And there are also a few other contests. Go AskSteem with the math and contest tag.

Aha, interesting. Which of the tags has the most posts?

Which of the mathematics tags? #math

Ah, I thought so. Simplest one to write, haha :) Can you tell me to what extent the order of tags you add to a post matter? Thanks.

The first tag you add will also insert your post inside the relevant chainBB forum - if one exists.

For mathematics, whichever of the 3 tags is first will place it inside the Mathematics forum.

The other 4 tags make no difference to chainBB but obviously will show your post in those tag streams on Steemit.

I like using the forum, so given a choice, if there are similar tags I'll pick one that has a forum associated with it.

Thanks for the reply. What do you mean by forum? Which tags have a forum associated with them?

Forum, as in chainBB forum: https://beta.chainbb.com/forum/math

You will need to sign up when you first use it, same as your Steemit account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70