I used to be really good at math but then

I stopped doing it. I mean I was way ahead of the class most of the time and skipped a grade once or twice. I was teaching myself the basics of trigonometry in 5th grade and when I took trigonometry in highschool I did solve an a supposedly unsolvable proof, but even though I knew it could be solved and what the answer was I failed to work out the proof after the teacher said if I nailed it I'd get published. This sounded awesome until after hours of hours I couldn't complete the proof despite the answer working out on the graph.

But I don't want to brag about it, because I'm not super gifted. But I mean in the past I've had a knack for understanding mathematics. What I'm wondering here, is there any value in me actually continuing to learn mathematics?

Does it bring any special benefit to the brain?
What are the cognitive benefits and possible drawbacks of pursuing it?

I've come to find, that I rarely apply it 'irl' is this just because of my lack of imagination or is it really just not that valuable for someone outside a professional that requires it?

Thanks ahead of time guys :).

Sort:  

I think it's a math brilliant science. I love a math. I believe we must always learn. Do not throw it up. What you missed. You can always make up. I missed a whole year. And it is made up for all the missed quietly. If it becomes boring and not interesting. We must move to a new level. But do not throw. A math is always needed. You can play Buduk. It develops thinking, and very right and left hemispheres. If you are using it enough. Read books that you need for a profession or specialized education. The main thing you need to learn to read at all times. Before you know it you all have forgotten *) Solve, of course you!

What is this buduk game? sell me some more on it please :) is it competitive or is it a solo thing or both? I like games. I'm wondering if there's any advantage for neuroplasticity over say learning chess instead of taking another dive into maths.

Baduk https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Go_(game) You can read about it here! This board game. As a guide for beginners to understand the philosophy of the game. Look anime Hikaru on GO. And if you like it better, and find like-minded people to play live. Either online! There are a lot of services.
Maybe we play together ,)

oh it's GO?? That game is confusing I wish I knew the rules I have a board and me and friend couldn't figure out the rules... hmmm I need to look into it more, thank you.

The rules are simple! More difficult struggle on the field 19x19. The main thing to start. To achieve perfection takes many years. Professional players are not working they only play! But it is really useful for the development of the brain. it is best to read the rules on the official site and also learned to play! There are many books and brainteasers to games. My advice to you is do not try to play online against other players. As long as you learn to solve puzzles. I have a lot of applications on the phone. And on the computer! but live have more fun if you play these stones. I wish you success in your endeavors. see this

Baduk tv rules english!

The rules are simple! More difficult struggle on the field 19x19. The main thing to start. To achieve perfection takes many years. Professional players are not working they only play! But it is really useful for the development of the brain. it is best to read the rules on the official site and also learned to play! There are many books and brainteasers to games. My advice to you is do not try to play online against other players. As long as you learn to solve puzzles. I have a lot of applications on the phone. And on the computer! but live have more fun if you play these stones. I wish you success in your endeavors. Baduk tv rules english!

Well, even if you are completely convinced that math itself does not help you in life, it teaches you perseverance. Hours of working on a proof is nothing, some Theorems take years to develop! I was stuck last year with a proof for 6 months, even though all my simulations indicated that the conditions that I expected to solve the puzzle were correct :-)

hey it was hours of hours over about a week or two, then I said 'eff this, I'm going to play everquest.'

Did you end up solving the proof?? I kind of regret giving up so early on that proof, looking back at how long I've spent on many other things, the time on that albeit it seeming a lot to me at that point was nothing compared to what i could've done but yeah, that perserverance lesson I could've used back then :). My life has been quite a hop and skip adventure since =).

Well, it's never too late! In the end I wrote a proof under somewhat stricter conditions which was a straightforward approach to get the work in an acceptable shape. It's still on my todo list to revise it, though I know how to do it now. It's just that the math can sometimes turn into quite a beast, and you need the correct mindset to do it :)

I'd be interested in the problem and the supposed proof or a rough sketch of it.

And yes. There is value in still learning mathematics. I'm doing a cryptography class (more to come soon!).

That's the spirit! I try to learn a new topic every year. Last year I took a course in remote sensing. I believe that if you work in mathematics, there are always useful connections that you can make between different fields.

It was like tan^2x=sin something or other, I could probably go ask my old teacher assuming he's still there and I think he is. I think he'd remember it more-so than me .. ergh, it was something that was well known to be unsolvable until he plugged it in on a graph, but this was like 15 years ago, I'm sure someone ran into it and proved it with ease by now. I remember arguing that it could be solved, but somehow I got the wrong proof and arrived at the correct answer.. quite a few times lol.

One of the students had his mom help him who was a math teacher and she claimed it wasn't solvable either. Heh, when school starts I'll see if he's still around but it'll be far after the breadth of this post I'm sure :).

You say there's value in it, but what value? I might have to hit the google for this but was hoping for some interesting answers and a few bucks here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61