SAT Math Problem (4) - Extreme Simplification!

in #mathematics7 years ago (edited)

PEMDAS

Untitled.png

You can literally make simplification problems as long as you want, so "what if I made you an" equation "so ridiculous, you'd be forced to consider it?" What do I consider ridiculous? Not much in math, so here!

Okay... We can do this! First, let's discuss! Always when doing a PEMDAS (Order of how you are supposed to do maths... Parenthesis, Exponents, Multiplication, Division, Addition, and Subtraction) work on the innermost parenthesis first in each term!
math.png

A few rules... Anything to the power of 0 is 1. So 5 to the power of zero equals 1. The cube root means "what number mulitplies with itself 3 times to make -8", that number is -2. Next step!

-1 to the third power means -1x-1x-1 which is still -1. Next step!

Almost done!

Getting Closer!

We can finish here...

If you find any mistakes please let me know. It will be rewarded! I'm quite sure I got it though. It was fun for me, but was it fun for you? Haha.


Thank you Steemers for your support! Teach your kids! Best wishes and happy trails! #steemiteducation

LogoAd.gif

Sort:  

As a math teacher, I love this problem. However, not sure why we need such a complex problem on any test. Why are we doing this to our children? Just wondering???

If they can get this, they can get any of them! Haha. I guess it's more for the Steemers anyways. Lol

I haven't heard of PEMDAS before. We learned BODMAS. Thanks for the post!

That is cool I've never heard of that. I will show my students. Haha

Ha-ha))
Such tasks make me smile!

Yeah... Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51