SAT Math Problem (1)

in #mathematics7 years ago

SAT Question # 1

The graph of the rational function f, where

MATH1.PNG

has vertical asymptotes at x= ____
a) 0 only
b) 4 only
c) 5 only
d) 0 and 4 only
e) 0, 4, and 5

This is a simple problem if you know the definition of asymptote and how to factor or use the quadratic formula. Both of which I have shown in previous posts, but this is Steemit, so I can reexplain for you because I love you!!! Haha.

Step 1

An asymptote is a line that is never crossed by the function. We find vertical asymptotes where the bottom of the fraction is zero (because you are never allowed to divide by zero), so we need to know the answer to

MATH2.PNG

What x values make this true?

Step 2 (1 - Factor)

We need two numbers that multiply to equal 16 that add up to -8. Since the number in front of x squared is 1 , that is all we have to do! We recognize that these numbers are -4 and -4 because (-4)(-4)=+16 and -4+(-4)=-8.

math3.PNG

Since they are the same we only get 1 solution. What makes x-4=0…. Well +4 does, our only answer.

Step 2 (2 – Quadratic Formula)

math4.PNG

A bonus way (Graphically)

Again, knowing what an asymptote is solves the problem immediately with a graph. The red line is our asymptote and the equation for that line is x=4. Plus you clearly see that it is the only one!

math5.PNG

Hope you've enjoyed the math for today Steemians! Happy trails and learn much to teach the kids!

LogoGif2.gif

Sort:  

I had to learn this in school. The quadratic formula annoyed me, because I always messed it up.😂

Learn it now Rubiks champ!

😂😂😂WILL DO!!!

Very good. We definitely need more question like these. What we really need are more students! They surely will come... soon-ish!

Yeah. Let just hope they bring intelligent things to Steemit. Lol

Ah, yes, we could see an infestation of "Only if you're a genius" questions.

I can bring it down a bit them. Haha. Let it entertain you! I'll be posting on my old research later on, trying to make it understandable for everyone.

@hansenator,
Kill me, that's better! When I get those questions with those graph that's what I always felt :D
Anyway nice question.. but I don't know how to solve :D

Cheers~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25