Painting the Silo - An Applied Mathematics Problem

in #mathematics7 years ago

I have to paint my silo and I need help. A can of paint comes in large (64 oz), medium (48 oz), and small (32 oz). The company scales the prices per ounce, so larger doesn't mean cheaper. One ounce covers about 1 square foot. To make it easier to transport, I do not want to buy extra paint, so help me figure out how many of each size I should buy.
Here is a rough drawing of my silo:

Cyl.png

Can we figure it out?


What kind of math teacher wouldn't answer this question?!?!
This problem is based on surface area. So, what is the surface area of a cylinder? To answer that, we break it up into the shapes of which it is made. A cylinder is made up of three pieces:

  • 2 Circles (top and bottom)
  • 1 rectangle (length is circumference and width is height):
    Untitled1.png

Now just add up the areas:

Capture.PNG

The hard part here is that the length of the circle is 2πr, so lets sub that in with the numbers.
Capture1.PNG

Since we have 2 circles and the rectangle we have: 78.5+78.5+628.3 = 785.3 sq. ft.

Now we need to know how much paint to buy.
12 Large cans paints 768 sq. ft.
1 Small cans paints 32 sq. ft.
Which covers it!

Hope you've enjoyed the cylindrical lesson Steemers! Happy trails and teach your kids!

ColorGIF.gif

Sort:  

Awesome. Keep them coming!:)

Thank you! Will do!

@hansenator,
Actually I didn't get it! But I wish someone will do and thanks for sharing this Maths problem! I wish I could answer your next question lol :D

Cheers~

Damn, I need to paint my silo too. lol

Lol. It's hard to remember to do. So much work. Haha

Yeah but I always liked geometry because you physically have something to reference. It makes sense to me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51