You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pick's Theorem - The Elegant, Universal, and Surprisingly Simple Method to Finding Area!

in #mathematics8 years ago

Dude, you're going on my auto-upvote list. When I roll out my upvote bot in a couple weeks. This stuff is awesome. You teach, right? What level? I've been fantasizing for a couple years about creating a course called something like Weird Math for Non-Majors. We'd basically just talk about stuff like this, and infinite cardinals, and high dimensional geometry paradoxes, and generalized inverted pendulums. It would be an exercise for me in explaining bizarre unintuitive theoretical concepts to people in intuitive ways.

Sort:  

First, thanks for the kind words! I always aim to explain the crazy scary concepts in math in intuitive ways, so your compliments come as high praise! I am indeed a teacher, high school and adjunct college.

The kind of course you are describing sounds amazing! The closest thing I have seen in my location is just a generic math topics course, with clubs like math circles taking up many of the interesting topics not covered in standard classes. Which, truly is a shame because so much of this kind of math is very beautiful but very intimidating. The on ramp to this kind of stuff needs to be much more approachable for someone just looking to study as an elective and seem as sexy as studying a science. Anything that gets students there I would sincerely applaud.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50