You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Companies Purposely Mislead?

in #math7 years ago

There's a book I was reading a year ago called "The Grapes of Math". I wasn't very far into into it, about 2 chapters in. But there was a part about how companies use numbers and words to invoke a certain, positive, psychological feeling. For example, Levi's 501 jeans (why is it 501 and not just 500?). Hienze 57, 7up, etc. all those products. There's a method to it from a marketing stand point to make their product feel superior to the consumer.

When you mentioned the 'up to' range that the adverts will claim, it made me think that of that book. I've put it to the side for a while now, but I'll have to pick it back up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81