You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: At Higher Levels It's Hard To Make Math Fun

in #math7 years ago

Math can definitely be taught in ways that take the fun out of it. However, I would guess that being coerced into studying something that you have no intrinsic interest in is the most common way to kill the fun in the subject, and that applies to mathematics or any other subject.

If you don't find math fun, then (assuming that fun wasn't destroyed by poor teaching or study) that's a probably a strong sign that you should be studying something else that you do find fun. I personally would have absolutely no interest in studying how to do general math proofs, despite loving reading and writing clever math proofs related to mathematics and physics genres that I enjoy.

I don't think that you should have to "make" math fun. At higher levels, people should study mathematics iff they find it fun or they want to apply it to something that they are interested in. That can easily lead back to study of mathematics if appropriate, in which case it will probably be fun, because the rationale for the study is understood and the student has a goal.

I'd personally like to see applications driven reasons for studying math presented in school. That doesn't fit well with the one size fits all model of public school where conformity and uniformity appears to be one of the primary goals.

Grade school teachers have no clue about the applications of even simple higher level mathematics like trigonometry. When I took trig way back in grade 12, I wanted to know how it was used in real life, and the only answer that I got in the classroom was along the lines of "It can be used in surveying ; you can measure the height of a building by measuring the angle". Those were dumb examples.

On the other hand, I had a strong interest in electronics and circuitry. Had somebody said that trigonometry was the workhorse of circuit analysis, of radio signal encoding, and information theory used in coding, I would have had a much stronger reason to study that trig. Eventually, I learned that trig was one of the keys to understanding the roles of the capacitors and inductors that I had in the little AM "crystal" set that I built at the time.

Imagine a world where the subject of interest drives what you should study, where you could get some coaching to help guide you towards the study required to achieve a desired applied or theoretical goal. If appropriate, a lot of fun math could be learned along the way.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment.

Most math teachers in my opinion don't try to make things "fun" nor interesting. A large handful of them make math more scary than it should be.

I do agree that it it still up to the student whether or not they want to continue math. Math teachers who provide motivating examples with realistic (enough) math applications can influence the student's decision with sticking with math.

I do agree with you about grade school teachers. Here in the province of Ontario (Toronto area), the grade school teachers were somewhat average with teaching math. My high school math teachers for the most part were pretty good (lucky sample size I guess). They were competent, knowledgeable but I wish they talked more about math careers and such.

One good application of math for high school students is understanding the basics of finance, interest rates, how compound interest works with exponential functions. Personal finance is one of those undertaught subjects in a lot of places.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60754.63
ETH 2349.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53