Circle Geometry Problem Hunt - 2

in #math7 years ago (edited)

Finding the missing angles in a circle using different properties of circles

We will use all the basic circle terminology and the circle properties we discussed in the previous posts to solve the problems.

Keep in mind the the following terms about circles:

  • Tangent is a line segment which intersect a circle only at one point.
  • The radius and the tangent make a right angle at the point of a tangency.
  • Any line segment intersecting a circle at two points is known as the chord of the circle.
  • The diameter of the circle is its longest chord.
  • If the radius of the circle intersect a chord at right angle then the radius bisects the chord.
  • If the radius bisects the chord then it is perpendicular to the chord (reverse of the above property)
  • Now the perpendicular bisector of the chord of the circle passes though its radius (both the above properties)
  • Central angle of a circle is twice the inscribed angle subtended by the same arc which is making the central angle.
  • Angle subtended by a semicircle is a right angle.

Trust me I have forgotten all the above before starting to write here on steemit, but wrote all the above from my memory now. If I could do it so can you (even easier for kids as young as in grade 9).

Sort:  

Another good post from Steemit's resident math teacher!

How are you my big brother? Thanks a lot for all your support, advice and encouragement.

That's a little bird peak explaining the all of my lesson in a nutshell my friend. Your way of communication is unbelievable!!

It's not bird, it's Pacman.

That's still a little bird for me, eating a lot!!LOL..

Oh boy...this is where I lost focus in high school. English, shop and sports were my strong suits. I understand that learning new things is good for the brain at any age but I know when I'm beat ~smiles~

So just wanted to stop by and see what your next post was about. I came...I saw...you conquered. All's fair in the love of math ...and I do understand it's importance my friend. I am not mocking...I assure you. You have my respect and admiration.

And with that being said...how many mathematicians does it take to screw in a light bulb? :-)

Only one and that's me Sir :-))

I really really appreciate your visit, please keep giving your nice feedback and your riddles, the horse one I still didn't get it.

haha...math serves you well! The horse of course...is a three legged horse...and bound to run off course...now you finish it ;-)

I still don't know the answer, please you endorse!!

My most sincere apologies @mathworksheets you have no time for such Tom Foolery.

the answer, well there is no answer but if we set the parameters at two words with a punctuation of your choice...then logic, when there is none...becomes your guess is as good as mine. I was just curious what you might come up with. Again...my apologies...of course. <<<<<< ;-)

Oh no brother! You don't have to apologize! I enjoyed the conversation and your riddles. I just not that strong at English Skills my dear.

Wow. That's second in the row. Thank you very much @steemiteducation for considering my post worthy of your educational blog.

It's amazing how all of this came back to me...even at 2:00 a.m.! ;) Thanks for posting!

Some folks have all the luck...beauty and brains!

Enjoy your day @samanthajbarnes :-)

Well, aren't you kind! Have a good one!

You are welcome Sam. Thanks YOU for taking the time to read the post and leaving your feedback even at 2:00 am. Geometry is there all around us in Nature in forms of constellations, patterns, man made equipment and objects are based on it. Isn't it amazing?

Sure thing! I always did enjoy this kind of math. It's like a puzzle or game.

I have been keenly aware of the geometry around me, particularly in nature. It shows up in the patterns I make from the photos I take. It surprises me every time...it is quite amazing, indeed!

Yes Sam, math puzzles are very interesting if you can connect the dots. Great to hear that you like geometry and you look for it in your photography work.

I don't even have to look for it...the geometry presents itself! Enjoy!!!

Wow! WoW!! Thanks a lot for such an incredible gift, Sam. I do draw art sometimes and other tried to draw exactly like it but couldn't. Who knew that I will still find it as a soothing delighting comment for one of post.

You're very welcome!

You have no idea how helpful this post is. I need to help my nephew in Grade 12 with the exact same section. Thank you

That's what I need to listen. When I hear that someone used my math worksheets and lessons far far away, I got so excited so much that it gives me energy to do 100 more lessons and worksheets. Thanks for your feedback my dear brother @sashin :))

I wish you where my math teacher in schools .. I used to suck so hard in geometry :P

Don't worry brother, use my lessons and worksheets for kids you know. For me where I lacked I want my kids to achieve that! You are a great personality bro. Thanks a lot for the conversations. Please stay in touch my dear.

You got me, @mathworksheets! LOL
I read through this. My head did not explode and my hair did not catch fire.

Ha haahaa! Math is the Universal language but still a foreign language for many of us!! Thanks a lot Meredith for taking the time to read my post and leaving such a nice comment. I know how busy you are. I am on one post from 3 or 4 a day. How do you handle all this?

Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us!

You are very welcome @bdmomuae. Thank YOU for all your support to my work.

Circles? This was the hardest topic for me in Grade 9. I still remember Mr. Ajit Singh teaching this to us!!

Ha hahaa... Yes, me either remember learning it in Grade 9 <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67