You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sophisms #1-#10: Discussion and Spoilers

in #math7 years ago

Yes, we had this discussion some weeks back. The only way to do it at the moment is to have an external doc as an index, maybe posted on GDocs or any other file storage system.

I have a project to create a library structure but need to find a dev - my idea to make it work appears to be too much work!

Sort:  

Well, I have a blog of my own where I could post and edit whatever and however I wanted, of course. I am now just trying to explore whether Steem could be a useful alternative place for sharing stuff with an active geek community. If the need remains to maintain even parts of the content somewhere outside, the attractiveness of Steem does heavily diminish (I'm not here for the whole "get cash" aspect too much anyway, and I'd seriously prefer if it wasn't as prominent).

I do start to understand slowly now that Steem, in its current form is, just like Facebook, primarily suited for constant short news and updates from friends rather than being a platform for general-purpose content which could be valuable beyond the current moment. Pretty much everything about Steem is built around the idea that everyone must focus only on stuff posted today. Something a week old is already dead, buried and useless. You cannot see it, you cannot edit it. No one cares about it (there are no more "curation rewards", and why would anyone here read anything without a curation reward, right?)

I do hope that the developers may at one point reconsider this current set up slightly, at the very least adding the possibility to edit posts without limitations.

After all, I can just as well create a new post every time to imitate an edit, I see no good reason why UI wouldn't just let me "replace" the old post with its new version at the same address if I need it - I'm OK with the older versions dangling somewhere in the blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44