Sophism #1: How to Become RichsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #math7 years ago

Mathematical sophisms are among my favourite kind of puzzles. A sophism is not just a puzzle, it is also a beautiful work of mathematical magic, where a false claim is disguised in a seemingly correct explanation. Finding the bug in a sophism nearly always teaches you something new.
I've been collecting sophisms for as long as I know myself, yet never found the opportunity to post the collection anywhere. Let me try doing it here, one at a time. I'll start with a simple classic:


Start with a valid equality:

2 dollars = 200 cents

Now square both sides to obtain:

4 dollars = 40000 cents

Need even more cents in your dollars? Just square both sides again!


Please, avoid posting direct spoilers in the comments. Indirect hints are OK.

Sort:  

Cents must be a new cryptocurrency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44