Interview with Divi project founder Geoff McCabe

in #masternode5 years ago (edited)


Interview with Geoff McCabe, CEO of Divi Project

A couple of days ago I wrote a review about the Divi Project. One of the ways Divi stands out in comparison with most other projects, are the people that are involved with Divi and subsequently want it to succeed. Almost everyone in the Divi community seems to be focused on helping everywhere they can, making everyone feel welcome, and the entire Telegram group has a generally nice warm fuzzy feeling surrounding it.

The only way such a culture can be established is when it is embedded, starting at the top level trickling down via the community managers all the way down to the newest discoverers of the project. Wherein the founders need to take the lead and show the culture they prefer to be had in the entire organization.

The moment I entered into the telegram channel I was welcomed personally by Geoff McCabe, the CEO. Geoff immediately stated the importance of taking the time to make every new soul coming into contact with Divi feel welcome.

Even though I did not intend to immediately go for an interview, the conversation evolved this way.

What you read below is a raw, uncut Telegram chat between me and Geoff. Besides trying to make it a bit easier to read, for example by removing timestamps, and making sure questions and answers were layered in the right chronological order, everything you can find is the unscripted conversation between a founder of a cryptocurrency ranked around #500 on coinmarketcap.com and someone just discovering the project.

I feel it gives a just representation of how Geoff tries to share his vision, and shows his true values and ambitions with the Divi Project.


Geoff

Hi Jamie, I'm the CEO of the Divi Project. I've been taking a bit of time to welcome newcomers (or at least new to me) personally when I see them, so thanks for joining our community. As you might imagine, I'm super busy, but I will take the time to answer a couple of questions personally if you want. I like tough, difficult questions, so feel free to challenge me.

I feel that it’s essential to have one of the most enthusiastic communities in crypto, so that’s why I’m taking the time to do this. I hope you’ll see we’re a high quality crypto with great potential and attitude. Hopefully you'll stick around as a long-term Divi supporter, get your masternode running, and bring in some friends too! I’d also like to know how you found us, and where you’re from.

Jamie

He Geoff, First of all, the entire community has been super welcoming. surprisingly so even. The moment I entered the telegram group I got tipped left and right.

A bit about myself concerning crypto: I learned about it somewhere early 2015, never touched it until October 2017 unfortunately! Ever since I have been obsessed with everything crypto, learning about economics (central banking, money printing, quantitative easing etc.), decentralization, trustless environments, privacy etc. but I was mostly learning only about top crypto projects (in regards to market cap) and trading.

Only recently I started with an objective to write about anything I found interesting in crypto, summarizing the topic with a weekly review. (I would love to be able to do an interview later on!), and tipped my toes in the best masternode options, since I am also very interested in seeing the economic possibilities including passive income, in crypto.
For now, know I was very excited to learn about a 1-click-masternode so jumped on board to see if this was really possible. That's the reason I started learning more, and bought one node.

Geoff

Sure, ask me questions here and I'll try to get back to you as quickly as possible. Or you can call my phone. What time zone are you in? I'm in Costa Rica which is Central Time U.S.

Jamie

Awesome Geoff! I am in Amsterdam myself (UTC+1) but maybe a skype call would be easiest? Otherwise phone or Telegram works!
Anything in particular you want to shine a light on, or want me to do some research on first? I see there is a lot going on and a lot you guys are working on (roadmap wise).

Geoff

We have a big project so there's lots to research and many people spend quite a bit of time and still don't really "get" what we're really focused on. Maybe our WP isn't very clear. Many people don't know what "Crypto Made Easy" really means.

From my point of view, the problem we're really solving is the FEAR people feel when hitting the SEND button in crypto. Most of what we're doing are various ways to make people comfortable and know that their crypto is going to the right place and not have so much paranoia. There are many other ways we're making crypto easier, such as a focus on one-click and no-click solutions to what are now complicated problems, but that's the biggest one that MUST be solved in order for the final crypto bull run... the one that brings in hundreds of trillions of dollars into tokens.

Jamie

Agreed, I have always been a bit more into computers than the regular Joe, but I still remember the first time I had to buy some BTC and send it somewhere. Refreshing the page every second.
It's not an easy task, so I hope you guys can pull it off. It’s a worthy ambition.

Geoff

The weird thing about Crypto Made Easy is that when we started this 2 years ago, we thought everyone else would copy us and start doing it too. Major crypto influencers in the space talked to us and said it was needed and that everyone agreed on this point. Two years later... still no one is really doing it. Dash Evolution was announced about two years ago... but where is it? They have millions of dollars every month for development but haven't made it a big enough focus yet. It's really the elephant in the room... people just aren't that interested because it's not a super high tech, artificial intelligence, supercomputer virtual reality geek thing. It's back to basics and continues to get ignored. Leaves a huge opportunity for us.

Jamie

Why do you think that is, only because it isn't 'sexy' enough?

Geoff

It doesn't seem sexy but IT IS. People will love what we're doing when they experience it. People love our MOCCI.

Jamie

I tend to agree, but why do you think those companies don’t think it’s sexy?
or are they just oblivious?

Geoff

It's not what they want to do. They're a bunch of techies, not UX designers.
UX designers are artists and architects.

Jamie

Doesn't that also make it a risk?

Geoff

I don't understand, what risk?

Jamie

if they have the capital, and the people able to make the tech. Doesn't that mean they only need some UX artists/architects to make their projects surpass you?

Geoff

No, because nobody else will have a blockchain that can do this. We are basically mixing up Dash and Namecoin, so we can do all kinds of cool things that neither can do on its own. Namecoin used to be a top-10 coin only 3-4 years ago and now nobody has heard of it. The lead dev of Namecoin, Daniel Kraft, is on our team.

Jamie

I had no idea, and indeed had not heard of Namecoin.

Geoff

Almost nobody we talk to has heard of Namecoin. They have no marketing although they have amazing tech that nobody uses.
It shows how new to crypto most people are.

Jamie

True, and I think even I am still very early in crypto. It's just really hard to convince my family and friends all the positives and possibilities. I fear they will jump in way too late.

What's the main focus now? I see a lot of possible improvements and new addons to the project. What do you feel is most important?
Btw Geoff, I feel this is still just a chat, but would you mind if I used any of this later on?

Geoff

Yes you can use any of it.
The coolest thing we'll have soon is we'll be only one of a handful of coins that have their own lightning network, but our lightning nodes can be set up with one click, even on a mobile phone.

Jamie

Fucking really?
Sorry, I shouldn't swear.

Geoff

It's okay.
I like to see you're fucking excited. I am too, I can't wait to get this tech out there.
We're in the network-building phase. Actual adoption comes later.

Jamie

so let's say I want to send some coins to a friend, for whatever, dinner or what not, and we just make an instant lightning connection to send it?

Geoff

Yes but you don't really need LN to do that because we have Dash's fast send that's instantaneous anyway.
LN is good for massive numbers of off-chain transactions, especially by bots, intelligent agents, IOT. All the stuff that doesn't really exist yet.

Jamie

What are the biggest use cases you think?

Geoff

I like to say "The future is a moving target" so I think about use cases for 3-5 years from now, not today. Today's big problem is that crypto is fucking difficult and scary for most people.

But, we found that problem doesn't excite the speculators. So maybe I should talk about millions of microtransactions between intelligent agents in VR worlds. I think Facebook is going to go down in flames in the next few years. Google too. And replaced by models where people pay with micropayments on blockchain. So we're getting ready for that.

Jamie

Totally agree, although I do think Google has the capability to grow with the times, possibly. Facebook, however, is done.
One of the reasons besides crypto being scary and difficult is still trust. How do you plan to tackle that? Especially from a not so well known name in crypto.

Geoff

Well we have trusted people on our team, such as Tim Sanders, the former Chief Solutions Officer of Yahoo, back when they were the biggest internet success around.

He knows personally the CEOs of almost every big tech company and will take our product to them when it's ready. These guys are in their 50's and 60's. They know blockchain and crypto's potential. But they also know that UX is king outside of a geek space like this.

Jamie

yes, people want something easy on the eyes. Not a bunch of lines of code.

Geoff

Yes people want something that just works and they don't have to think about or learn anything about. Simple solutions so they can just get the things done that they want to do. "Stupid Simple" is one of our mottos. And also, "If you can't do it drunk, it's not good enough yet."

Jamie

I like that

Geoff

You need to be able to pay for that last beer of the night with crypto without accidentally sending someone your life savings!

Jamie

And it has to be easy and fast.
Strange though, because everyone is saying the same thing, but it still isn't here and readily available

Geoff

I know, they all say it but nobody in this space wants to actually work on it. Except us apparently.
At Anarchapulco I just hung out with the UX designer of DASH for a while and we had some interesting chats.

Jamie

About what?

Geoff

Where the F... is Evolution they promised 2 years ago?
There's always some other priority somehow.

Jamie

Last I heard they did have some crazy parties though!

Geoff

Someday, Divi will have the best parties. But for now, it's all work.

Jamie

Can i ask you how you guys are funding the project? It's a pretty decent sized team, and only looking at the market cap, the bear market might have given you some problems?
If you don't wat to answer any of my questions, feel free to tell me and i'll know the boundaries 👍

Geoff

The founders take no salaries. I am paying out of my pocket for some stuff. We have some funds. And we sell some DIVI. And lots of volunteers. It's enough to keep moving forward with development. We have had new releases like clockwork every two weeks.

Jamie

Do you have anyone on your payroll full time?

Geoff

Yes, Yuri on the blockchain, two devs in Belarus, and Edwina. Everyone else is part time, volunteer, paid in Divi, etc.

Jamie

So how do volunteers help? Watching over social media, and promoting the project or do they have other roles?

Geoff

I mentioned the Divi Crew. we have a few dozen community members who do marketing for a small amount of DIVI and a few weekly prizes. We're gamifying that and making it fun.
So they post all over the internet, respond to Twitter posts, reddit, facebook groups, etc.
They make memes, videos, Divi logo products, etc.

Jamie

So let’s get back to adoption.
The stock market, trade deficit and the total global debt is ballooning out of proportions, do you feel that bubble needs to pop before crypto gets adopted more? Doesn't that also mean we will have way bigger problems in the world to deal with?

Geoff

I don't have an answer about the world debt and all that. I'm not into conspiracy theories or have enough knowledge about macroeconomics to make an informed decision about this so I ignore that and stick with what I know. I do think crypto is the future one way or another.

Jamie

Ok, last question, How was Anarchapulco!? Will try to be there next year!

Geoff

Anarchapulco was great... going back next year for sure. Divi donated the computers for their orphanage project and we taught the kids some tech stuff... basic coding, helped them build a robot, etc. We'll do more of that next year.

Jamie

Didn't plan on this actually becoming kind of an interview, but it's amazing you are taking so much time out of your busy schedule.
If I am to use any information written down here, I will let you know before publishing. I can't promise yet that my review will be positive yet though. Perhaps I have some questions after doing more research, but don't feel obliged to answer those. I already got more time than I bargained for.
Will let you know when it's done.
Again, thanks a million and Have a great day Geoff!

Geoff

OK just if you find anything negative that makes you doubt, feel free to ask me. I love tough questions. They make us better!



Geoff and I talked on and off for close to 2 hours from the moment I joined the Telegram group.
Since our comversation I invested in some Divi, got a review about the project online, and am now publishing this interview.
I reckon my interest in the Divi project wouldn’t have been half as big if I hadn’t felt so welcome, and got to talk to the CEO who shared his vision and got me hyped up for the project. With my final remarks I would like to end where I started my previous review about the Divi Project. We tend to forget that it isn’t only and just about the tech. It is obviously very important, But it is the people and it’s community that make a crypto valuable.
The Divi community has been one of the best I have encountered so far. This could be in part because of it’s size, but the friendliness is ever present between its members.
If it is possible for Geoff and the team to keep this up, taking the time to personally welcome everyone new to Divi, can be argued - it would require all his time available - however, this is exactly the culture that he tries to trickle down to the rest of the people involved in the Divi Project and it shows.
As stated before, I will continue to follow the Divi project and regularly keep you updated about the progress.
Are you feeling generous, and did you enjoy this interview? I accept donations!

BTC: 369AyfgLtZ349omHgafUGkrNCGHLuhPGtx
ETH: 0xd74635002Af9e191665D2AaDD03921E7f1201387
LTC: MEvKQ1d4GYsyMjqYwizVb6RZmEUjDXj5ty
DIVI: DEwGi1b5Vo19PMA1sMhja7KihCy4muiB2a

@BullishOnCrypts on twitter
https://www.reddit.com/user/Cryptobullish020

Sort:  

Awesome interview. Divi is going to crush it this year

Think so yeah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87