How I changed somebodies life and motivation and its relation to personal development.

in #massage8 years ago (edited)

One of the things I do for a living is massage therapy, in this case I received a call from a hotel requesting a massage for one their clients. What I never knew was how good I would feel and how much I would influence his perspective.
In this cases, when the clients are on vacation they are likely to just want a relaxing massage that gives them good sensations, they’re not looking for much else. This time though, the client wanted

image

something to ease the pain a bit because he had a scoliosis since he was a child and when he worked too much and didn’t do exercise the pain worsened.

OK, the first step was done he understood that exercise helps with the pain now it was a matter of teaching him how it could also use it to fix the problem. In these cases I start with a relaxing massage before I move to the problematic area. This is important because it allows the person to relax his body but also to create space for change. After he relaxed when I was at the problematic area we talked a bit more and I explained he had good muscle balance even though is bones were arranged differently and this that this helped the problem not go are further.
After doing the tissue release in the anterior portion of the body I explained that the body structure is kept by soft tissue and that Yoga positions mobilizes all structures of the body bringing about positive change, I then asked if he had an emotional trauma at the time he had a growth sprout (normally associated with scoliosis) and said that yoga can help with this to. He didn’t reply preferring to ask if it could help emotional and mental stress even though it’s just exercise.

Look exercise is what happened after stress in cavemen days

I didn’t scream this out loud, which is what I feel like doing every time someone talks about stress I also didn’t proceed to describe the stress hormone, exercise relation what I did was just say yes it does and it does because our body and mind are connected and Yoga (witch literally means to unite) has a practice which is calm and self-centred which will force you to deal with your issues both fiscally and emotionally.

The importance of this talk was that after it the patient is totally motivated to work on himself

Self-improvement sounds nice but self is the first and last word on it… well not literary it’s the.. you get it…
We need to realise our problems can be solved and that changing our life is possible if we do the right things, this lists a complicated process

  1. Find the right things to do

  2. Do them

Presto that’s it before I talked to this patient he though his problem was a thing he always would have. Tomorrow he will start working on fixing it, in the end he asked if I teach yoga, I don’t there are already many teachers I like to teach the importance of it and do it. I may teach you a pose if you really need it but I would never presume to substitute someone whose sole work is this type of activity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77