I've gotta give props to Massad Ayoob.

in #massad4 months ago

image.png

I'm pissed at myself for not making this point myself.

When I was going though orientation for my job -- actually a few jobs at this point -- they showed us the same crappy, government video about what to do in an active shooter situation.

"Run. Hide. Fight."

-- in that freaking order.

Even the Daily Wire made a surprisingly good movie with that title.

Still, the question remains, "Fight with what?"

If you was want to disarm us, you're telling us to take out dudes with guns with chairs and plastic knives.

Also, what about disabled people?

Are you gonna tell people in wheelchairs to run? I have a friend who's wheelchair-bound and on a ventilor. Is he gonna hide under a table if some maniac starts shooting?

It's cute that you think that we can just disarm the bad guys; but, it's been clear that that's not practical for longer than I've been alive. Despite the rhetoric, These United States aren't even in the top ten in regard to mass shootings. Guns are used at least ten times more often in self-defense than they are to murder people.

As Eli Dicken showed all of us, a good person with a gun is a life saver. Most people are good. We shouldn't abridge the rights of good people in the foolish attempt to disarm bad people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87