Masks or no Masks

in #masks2 years ago

image.png

I created this post on Facebook, which created quite the mini uproar from my community. If you have been following my posts, you will know that I live in South Korea with my family. Mainly because my wife is Korean.

Anyway. To the point of this post.

While a bunch of nations abandoned most or all of their COVID mandates, many Asian countries still hang on to masks, and in the case of China even lockdowns. This, quite possibly, is due to the fact that masks were a thing in Asia long before COVID, and when I say Asia I am really only referring to the 3 big ones: China, Japan and South Korea.

Korea still implements mandatory mask wearing when entering buildings, and I will elaborate on why that's strange in a minute. Masks are no longer required outside, yet by the looks of it, 90% of the population continues to wear them without fail.

So now on to inconsistency that is the wearing of masks inside. Majority of the developped world has abandoned the wearing of masks. Some Airlines are now no longer ger requiring passengers to board with masks, although people clearly can if they choose to. There are many reasons for why this is the case and I won't get into it because it would take too long.

Korean businesses are still legally required to have customers wear masks, but many of them have been very loose with these mandates as well. The biggest inconsistency visible is that of places where goods are consumed, restaurants, bars, coffee shops. People are required to wear masks while entering the business and then sit down at their table to eat, drink, talk without masks. Many here are struggling to understand the necessity for mask mandates indoors for those reasons.

It reminds me of when restaurants were divided into smoking and non smoking sections, as if smoke k ew where not to go.

My story with the post was that I entered Starbucks without a mSk, and I would like to point out that I don't normally drink Starbucks as its ridiculously overpriced and the only reason why I went in was because of giftcards I was given in the pSt which I would like to redeem. So while I was standing in front of the batista and cash register, the personally made me the courtesy of Google g the translation for the reasons why I need a mask. This went on for about 5 or 10 minutes, during which time I stood there, talking all this time without a mask. 10 minutes is about the time it takes a good cup of Joe, without talking, which to me looks like a much more efficient way of eliminating a potential spread of viruses. Not talking.

I wasn't served. I went across the street where I was served, without a mask. The workers were wearing masks. The customers sitting down were not. Business was conducted. Starbucks lost $5....That will show them.

People on Facebook were up in arms again. They called me a dick for putting the workers on the spot. People were up in arms when I refused to get vaccinated. Now many say they wish they had not gotten the wind jab.

I no longer fear the wrath of the justice warriors for I see them as cowards hiding behind the facelessness of the social media atforms. Many of them lack the decency and most likely the capacity, for a proper discourse away from name calling.

I am planning o making a video on this topic and uploading it to YouTube. That should spark some real backlash.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62504.18
ETH 2430.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60