Marvelous Tales #5 - [The dance of Water]

in #marveloustales7 years ago (edited)

pond.jpg

The Dance of Water

It was an exciting day in the temple. Mearas always looked forward to the day of choosing. She'd seen it many times in her years as a priestess and was enjoying the examination, after all these children whould become part of their ancient order, tasked with watching over the elements, how could she not be excited? Many young prospects had already been found but this last one didn't look very promising. Mearas and the other high priests where seated at a long plain wooden table in the temple's gardens. Two large braziers where lit on either side of the table giving off a warm glow and lighting the rapidly darkening sky. Before them a statue of a serene woman was pouring water into the pond from the jug cradled in her arms. The sound of the gentle splashing mixed with the insects songs, creating what Mearas thought was a very pleasent evening indeed.

The child in front of them was the last to be tested this day. She was standing shyly in front of them staring intently at her feet. The girl wasn't couldn't be older then eight. Much to young to be tested, but the priest who found her was adamant, so here she was. "What's your name child? And what's your element?" Mearas asked. "ehm.. J-J-June miss, and i like w-w-water miss" the girl stammered, blushing furiously. What was the priest thinking bringing this girl in for testing? She couldn't even controll her own voice, let alone the elements around her. She smiled gently at the girl "Shows us what you can do then June my dear".

June fidgited around for a few moments before taking a deep breath and closing her eyes. As she slowly raised her hands it suddenly became quiet. the insects had fallen silent and Mearas realiced the sound of water had also vanished. As she turned around her eyes widened. There, rising out of the pond where dozens strands of water. As Mearas watched the strands started taking shape, swirling into tiny animals. Once fully formed they seemed to spring to life, a bunny hopped up in the air and landed with a gentle splash on June's outstretched hand. A snake, it's watery form glinting in the light of the braziers, wrapped itself around the little girls leg while 2 tiny birds tweeted happily around her face. Deers, wolfs, bears and dozens of other animals all liquid turned to life danced around the child. She was standing in the middle of all that serenely smiling and beaming at what she had created.
She lowered her arms then, and as one the animals made their way back to the pond melding back into their sanctuary. The girl looked up at the high priests who were staring openmouthed at the pond, unable to take their eyes of it. "W-w-was that ok M-m-miss?" She stammered. Mearas, snapping back to her senses, stared at the girl for a moment. Then stood up and hugged the child. "Yes dear, you pass. You'll make a great priestess one day"

Sort:  

I love it! Painting the scene, just like all the fantasy writers do :D

Thank you^^

Truly marvelous! A very interesting tale, @imenion! 👌 👌 👌

P.S.:
May I request you if you can devote a little more time in editing the proof for spellings as it really confused me at places when "were" were exchanged by "where" or when "c" from "once" was omitted ✍️🤔 🙏 🙏. It made me read those lines twice to actually grasp the meaning. 😢


🎹 🥁 🎷 🎺 🎸 🎻 I’m trying to use a lot of emojis here to Celebrate the World Emoji Day this week. Are you? 🎊 🎉 🎉 🎉⛄️

I'm not sure how it is with his English, but I know he's dyslexic, so I figured I'll excuse the spelling :-)

Oh! But this wasn't a call to the honorable judges, I was just giving my humble feedback to the author. But since you said that he is dyslexic, it would make more sense if a volunteering team from the organizers of this contest can devote some time to suggest little edits here and there to make their entries look more professional.

I'm neither good at language nor at the art of story telling. Otherwise, I'd have volunteered some of my time for the budding talent. But I'm myself thinking to participate in your contests and may need some mentoring. So how about setting up a mentoring team of volunteers?

That, my friend, is a very nice suggestion. However, as it is now, I only get two-three entries per contest if I'm lucky, so it's not really a big one yet. If the contest becomes bigger, I will definitely think about suggestions like these!

For @imenion specifically, I'll always be available to help him with some edits if he wants me to check his stories (I don't specifically mean the contest entries only), since he's my brother ;-)
I'm looking past it for now though.

You're always welcome to join! I've got a contender who uses my contest to become better at writing and drawing. It's a nice practice to work towards a career in manga writing in this example.

Just try it and see how it goes! I'm here for advice, but I have to warn you, I'm not a great artist, nor a great writer, so I can't give in-depth advice. I'll do my best though to answer your questions.

Thank you for considering my suggestion at least! I hope this contest will soon grow bigger if some efforts are made to nurture a community around it. I really love your idea of holding such a contest regularly.

I ain't looking to be a professional writer however. But it would be fun to participate in it. And that would also make me publish at least a post every week ....for I'm so lazy to post regularly.

You will certainly get more lucky this week onward. Let me try to write a quick short story around this week's words. Hope you won't make fun of it. (But you have got every right to do just that 😉). Even if it doesn't qualify as an entry to your contest, I'll at least increase my post count for the sake of statistics 😜

I don't make fun of any serious attempt! I know not everyone's skills are equal and I know everyone has their own weaknesses and strenghts. I'm happy for every entry and I hope the authors enjoy their time writing their stories :-)

Well, then it's perfect 👌. I've just entered my soon-to-be award winning marvelous tale in your contest. You can find it here. 😊

But yes, I realized that it does take a lot of effort for just creating a tale like this.

I could not do it! I'm glad I'm hosting this, instead of joining ;-)

Thank you for your entry, I really liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68606.74
ETH 3912.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64