Superhero Fatigue and Why I'm Not seeing Black Panther

in #marvel6 years ago (edited)

10 years ago, I saw Iron Man. And man, was it the shit. I remember absolutely loving it. It's safe to say that I was thoroughly stoked on superheros. I couldn't wait for more movies. And for a couple of years, I still couldn't wait for more movies.

I remember watching The Avengers at 11 Am on a Saturday in a packed theater. And loving it. Everyone at my high school was talking about it. Everyone had seen it. It was almost universally considered amazing by my peers. 

And it all went downhill from there. 

 As the years drug on, my love of superhero movies died. My love of comics, which I'd acquired because of these films hadn't, but the movies themselves became so boring. I remember seeing Age of Ultron and not feeling comfortable expressing my disappointment Everyone else had loved it. Maybe I just missed something. I thought the same thing after seeing Civil War

By the time I drug myself to Thor: Ragnarok in November, I just absolutely could not give a fuck. The trailer hype had totally passed me by. I hadn't even watched them. I was only going because my brothers were. And I ended up wanting my $10 back.  The first five minutes pretty much made me lose all hope. The forced humor. The predictable plot. The bland and pointless characters. It was torture. Not even Karl Urban's fine ass was enough to save this movie for me. 

There were some bright spots. I remember really enjoying Doctor Strange. I also loved Guardians 1. But these weren't really traditional superheros movies. They had a different feel to them. It didn't feel like the same old shit. I'm sure by the time Doctor Strange 5 rolls around, I'll feel differently. I thought the way Michael Keaton portrayed The Vulture in Spiderman: Homecoming was great, and the movie as a whole was watchable. But honestly, these movies are a drop in a ocean of boring, predictable stories that have lost all of what originally made them so exciting. 

Marvel's not purely to blame. I'm also tired of the Fox X-Men movies. And the new DC movies aren't even worth mentioning. Superheros have been done to death in my opinion. Something I once loved has been thoroughly worn out, I can't stand the thought of paying to see another. fucking. superhero. movie.

At this point even Infinity War, a movie I've been waiting to see for 10 years, doesn't really interest me. It's just yet another superhero movie out of so many. And that's honestly why I have no interest in seeing Black Panther. I enjoyed the character in Civil War. I thought he was portrayed well and was a good addition to the roster. But his solo movie just looks like more of the same. A way too long, "action-packed" movie that's just another brick in the wall. 

Sort:  

"You don't want to pay for superheros? How about another mediocre Star Wars movie?"-Disney Executive Drone 626

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70