You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When you try your best but you don't succeed... My first Brazilian Jiu Jitsu tournament experience.

in #martialarts7 years ago

This is awesome! First let me say congratulations. I wish everyone could have the experience of losing a match in martial arts. The humility it teaches can be life altering. I've practiced Judo/Jiu-Jitsu for a little more than 14 years. Yes, the losses hurt, but the lessons they teach are more profound than the one's learned from winning. Those lessons will also prepare you to better handle this "wins" as well. Thanks for the post. Cheers!

Sort:  

@nexusfyre more than 14 years of experience! Wow, I am like a new born baby compared to you... Jiu Jitsu certainly has a very special way of humbling people, the lessons are bitter sometimes but it is a constant reminder that there is always an entire universe of skill and knowledge to be attained only through patience and perseverance. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts.

Oh, I've not practiced for a few years, but the mindset sticks with you a bit longer than the technique ha! You'd probably run circles around me now :P One of my favorite things my instructor used to say was, "I know enough to know that I know very little." Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49