You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When you try your best but you don't succeed... My first Brazilian Jiu Jitsu tournament experience.

in #martialarts7 years ago

Congratulations on going through with your first competition! Results were not what you wanted and that sucks; I know. I had a very similar experience with my first and only competition so far this year. Went the full round, lost on points (but I lost by a lot more than you), hated my performance watching the video (a dozen times within 1 day after), missed my chance to win, etc.

However, you may not see it now but the amount you learned and how immediately it improves your game is far more valuable than had you smashed your way to 1st. You would still have the holes that you're now very aware of and shoring up because of that loss. In the long term view of your BJJ life this is the shortcut to improvement. You express great attitude and perspective in this post so no doubt you'll be capitalizing on this rapid growth opportunity. Good for you. :)

Sort:  

@ksgata, I know that feeling of watching the video from your match and going "who is that idiot wearing my gi?" Hahaha! I was cringing so hard when I watched mine.

True, I am now very much aware of what wholes in my game need to be urgently addressed, and somehow I feel like those same problems would have gone undetected for some time without the experience of competition. I like your approach of seeing competition as a shortcut to improvement, thank you very much for leaving such nice feedback! Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49