You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When you try your best but you don't succeed... My first Brazilian Jiu Jitsu tournament experience.

in #martialarts7 years ago

One step closer to victory. I was a former nationally ranked swimmer and held multiple local records and was being recruited for highschool and colleges starting at age 12. No one even knew I existed for the first 7 years when I started swimming and competing except my close friends. I was good but not great. I obviously wanted to win and tried my hardest, but never got upset that I lost. I always wanted to know why I was slower and what the better swimmers were doing that I wasn't. My sights were also never set on my opponent, they were set on the champions. My opponents would always change and be temporary so I made a stable and constant goal. I chased after the best people in my group, worked on technique, raced and lost to the best, time after time finishing behind them. I would slowly notice I would finish behind them less and less each and every month, week, and day. Eventually I beat the top guys in my practice. Then I worked on beating them by longer distances each time. Rest was history.

It's just on step on the ladder you need to move up to be good. Realistically speaking, probably having a few steps before making it to the top is better. Keeps you humble (there are some beasts out there that just start at the top). If you get there faster, great but expect to go through more steps.

Upvoted and resteemed!

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience, @aaagent. It is really inspiring to have such an insight into how an athlete rises to the top, and at the same time it is reassuring to know that not being an "instant success" is not a sign that you are doomed to be at the bottom forever. I will follow your example and climb all these necessary steps to become better and better.

In addition, I know it is a cliché, but we really learn much more from our mistakes than our triumphs. Each mistake you make is a lesson that will be indelibly fixed in your mind and will help you to become a better player, I can see than very clearly right now.

Thanks a ton for the resteem! You rock ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51