Carmen Carangi | Stepping into the Cage | My Mixed Martial Arts Debut |

in #martial-arts6 years ago (edited)

If you saw the earlier post of my Mixed Martial Arts Training Montage, you're probably wondering how I did in my first Amateur MMA Fight...

Well here it is! Watch first if you don't want any spoilers!!



(Spoiler Protection)

(Spoiler Protection)

(Spoiler Protection)

(Spoiler Protection)

(Spoiler Protection)

(Spoiler Protection)

(Spoiler Protection)


Was one heck of a fight! Had a blast out there, it was the classic Striker VS Grappler match up, and unfortunately, My Conditioning for this fight was not where it needed to be.

It becomes painstakingly obvious by the complete change in demeanor, as soon as I ran out of STEEM (LOL) my energy went from confident and ecstatic, to dreary and stagnant.

That's Okay though because in Fighting and in Life, you have to be able to take your shots and learn from them.

My start to 2018 was grim, and it was looking to get even grim-er as the days rolled on... I was beating myself up over how my last relationship ended.... I was almost getting married and even about to start a family, and then it all slipped away.

I had punished myself over and over again about what i could have done differently, and honested I just spent most of my time feeling devasted about my life.

Then February Rolls around and a good friend of mine from the past starts to show up on my News Feed, he came out of the woodwork and started his own Gym called @northstarmma.

I always thought he was a good Fighter and a Leader, and when he put out info an open sparring session at his new location in the Germantown section of Philadelphia, one of those uncanny, mysterious voices silently called to me and said "Go".

This is the same voice that called me to randomly Hijack @sonnymazzone and go to @anarchapulco in Mexico of that month.

That event would be the Genisis of my transmutation from sorry guilt-ridden sap Carm into an energy pattern that felt like the REAL me!

Growing up I was fearless, I said what I want, Did what I want, and didn't give a shit what anyone thought about it... But I realized that in my previous relationship I was letting my ex and her family's opinion of me stifle that energy pattern and I began subconsciously suppressing the real me.

The me that isn't afraid to be himself no matter if people think it's wrong, rude, crass, or uncivilized.

I curse. I think the military Fucking Sucks. I think Government in general Sucks. I think Cops should be disarmed and less punitively impregnable.

And I can say all of this out loud, to the world. Because I've stepped into my Power and Reclaimed who I was. Which is an Infinite Spirit inside a body, and nothing will stop me any longer from shining my Light!


After getting back from Anarchapulco I felt invigorated and took up a job teaching a Kids JuJitsu Class at North Star to begin my training as a fighter.

And in only 4 months i felt ready enough to step in and fight. Not Because I knew I would win, but because I knew I was ready for the experience.

This Fight was an allegory for my entire life these past few years. I came out strong, did my thing, but took alot of shots. And through nothing but force of will alone, I took every shot and wouldn't allow myself to be stopped!

Even though on paper I lost, the rest of that night I kept telling everyone how it still felt like I won somehow. There were many obstacles that I overcame, coming down to even a few weeks before the fight, and I let none of it break my will, and I almost won my first fight after only really being competitive for 1/3 of the Bout.

I knew it was early for me in my career, but that's exactly why I did it. They say you should always Eat the Frog as soon as you can (Expression for do the hardest thing first) and now that I have, I can't wait to try again with all of the leaps and bounds I've made since then


The point of this post is to inspire anyone who might be going through a hard time right now. No matter what it is, it's on you to Sack up and address your circumstances. Taking up a Discipline, especially physical one like martial arts, will help you strengthen and hone your will. This will play out in your life as well as in the discipline.

TSOA has grown from a sad channel with only 2 videos on it, to a Synchronistic Collaboration Mecca of Anarchist Thought and Spirituality.

And you can make no mistake that the discipline used to grow this channel was first earned and forged in my heart as I pushed myself beyond my physical limits and saw the extent to which my Alkaline Vegan Health allowed me to perform in my MMA Training.

Thank you for reading all of this, it's quite personal for me, but I believe that we all have our struggles that we a fighting to overcome, and I hope my story can help anyone else out there Stand Up and Yell at the top of their lungs -

"This is my Life! And I'm taking it back!"


@chickencaam out <3


Logo circle icon.png


If you wanna talk Life/Music/Crypto/MMA, or even want to learn a few moves, feel free to strike up a talk with me at Steemfest this Year. It's gonna be such an empowering Conference, and you can bet that mysterious voice is responsible for my attendance there as well!

See You There!


meet-me-at-steemfest-in-krakow.jpg


Sort:  

Hi @chickencaam, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @northstarmma doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @northstarmen ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Oh They will soon Checky ;)

Congratulations @chickencaam! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74