You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Martial Concepts: Principles of Footwork

in #martial-arts8 years ago

Thanks!

In my training, the motion of the foot isn't strictly part of footwork; this tends to be classified under body mechanics. There's no significant difference anyway; the motion of the foot up and down also influences how the rest of the body moves, and adds power to a technique.

Sort:  

You bet! In reference to the "jumping", I was referring to an actual jump of a full body, not strictly the foot it self... Namaste :)

I see. We don't do any jumping motions in FMA. The closest analogies I've seen are drop steps from other arts, Jack Dempsey's trigger step and Bruce Lee's push-off for his famous straight lead. It's not something we explicitly do in training...but it's something I'm learning to cultivate anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54384.85
ETH 2275.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33